Some L6 questions for Ableton's 'happy Campers'..

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Some L6 questions for Ableton's 'happy Campers'..

Post by Poster » Sun Jul 16, 2006 5:04 pm

these we're my very basic requests..

1. Wacom tablet support?
2. MIDI plugin support?
3. Improved MIDI/Envelope editing features?
4. Recording (absolute) MIDI modulation in Session?
5. Record quantization beyond 16th? (32/64/..)
6. One (1) automatable on/off button for a device chain..

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Sun Jul 16, 2006 7:38 pm

can someone please do a short answering?
or are these still secrets?

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Some L6 questions for Ableton's 'happy Campers'..

Post by Machinate » Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:01 pm

1. Wacom tablet support?
Works. I haven't installed wacom drivers on my new CoreDuo, but the standard plug-and-play mode works.
2. MIDI plugin support?
you'll need to be a bit more specific here - are you talking about the cakewalk format, or the little ones they use in EnergyXT and so on?
3. Improved MIDI/Envelope editing features?
Stretch markers are really cool. And the clip envelope window drop down selector can be set to only show the edited envelopes, so no more scrolling through tons of pages to find your last tweak.
4. Recording (absolute) MIDI modulation in Session?
Nope. This one requires a complete transformation of the automation handling, and will take a very long time.
5. Record quantization beyond 16th? (32/64/..)
Actually the user base was asked last year which quantization levels they would like, and noone mentioned these, if I recall correctly. You can always record un-quantized and then ctrl-U, or simply set the tempo to double-time, global quantize to twice the normal setting, and quantize to 16th notes?
6. One (1) automatable on/off button for a device chain..
One (1) automatable on/off button for the Device Rack, yes - it's also possible to switch between internal chains and a bypass chain using macro controller 1 and the chain editor (! - very powerful stuff) and you can also simply automate the overall volume of each chain in a Rack. And so on, and so on. Short answer: Yes. ;)
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:21 pm

thanks for the answers :D

1. you mean that my Wacom now acts the same in Live as in all other apps and system?

2. By MIDI plugin support I mean that we can route MIDI out from let's say Reaktor to a given destination in Live, without external routing?

3. So no improvements on envelope drawing?

5. Aaah.. I missed that question.. I would've voted for 32/64, but your tips are usefull..

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:47 pm

Poster wrote:thanks for the answers :D
No problem. I would have wanted the same.
1. you mean that my Wacom now acts the same in Live as in all other apps and system?
How would I know? *all other apps*? Are you talking about anything in particular?
It doesn't detect tilt/rotate/pressure/azimuth whatever stuff, of course, but from my limited testing it sure doesn't do any jumpy jittery stuff when trying to manipulate sliders/knobs. Mouse mode only, though - I just installed the software.
2. By MIDI plugin support I mean that we can route MIDI out from let's say Reaktor to a given destination in Live, without external routing?
Still needs to be more specific: What kind of midi routed to which parts of Live? Do you mean midi cc# to midi assigned parameters? No. Do you mean midi notes? Yes, you can still do that, as far as I know.
3. So no improvements on envelope drawing?
Again, are you talking about anything in particular? As far as I can tell the "show modulated parameters only" setting is the new feature for Live6.

/Andreas
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:09 pm

thanks again..
How would I know? *all other apps*? Are you talking about anything in particular?
It doesn't detect tilt/rotate/pressure/azimuth whatever stuff, of course, but from my limited testing it sure doesn't do any jumpy jittery stuff when trying to manipulate sliders/knobs. Mouse mode only, though - I just installed the software.
Yep, I mean the 'jumpy jittery stuff when trying to manipulate sliders/knobs'
Live is the only app I know (and I use alot) that doesn't support Wacom (pen & mouse mode)..
Still needs to be more specific: What kind of midi routed to which parts of Live? Do you mean midi cc# to midi assigned parameters? No. Do you mean midi notes? Yes, you can still do that, as far as I know.
Yep, I mean the CC#.. bummer.. :cry:
Again, are you talking about anything in particular? As far as I can tell the "show modulated parameters only" setting is the new feature for Live6.

I mean some additional tools for drawing and editing like reversing/ scaling/ (bezier)curves/ presets/ etc.
But I think I know the answer..

Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Post by Surreal » Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:27 pm

can we map delete to a midi note?

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:19 am

one last question;
I requested this earlier..
did it make it?
------------
Automatic Clip Color Change:
Let's say you've copied a drum clip to the arrange and duplicated it 10 times.
Now you want to edit the 4th clip to make a break or something.
It would be very usefull if that clip changed color automatically when you edit it's content so you know it's different from the others..

very simple, very usefull..
-------------

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:22 am

Surreal wrote:can we map delete to a midi note?
no

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:24 am

Poster wrote:one last question;
I requested this earlier..
did it make it?
------------
Automatic Clip Color Change:
Let's say you've copied a drum clip to the arrange and duplicated it 10 times.
Now you want to edit the 4th clip to make a break or something.
It would be very usefull if that clip changed color automatically when you edit it's content so you know it's different from the others..

very simple, very usefull..
-------------
no

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:25 am

peeddrroo wrote:
Surreal wrote:can we map delete to a midi note?
no
what is it people are wanting this for - I dont quite get it

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:28 am

peeddrroo wrote:
Poster wrote:one last question;
I requested this earlier..
did it make it?
------------
Automatic Clip Color Change:
Let's say you've copied a drum clip to the arrange and duplicated it 10 times.
Now you want to edit the 4th clip to make a break or something.
It would be very usefull if that clip changed color automatically when you edit it's content so you know it's different from the others..

very simple, very usefull..
-------------
no
:( so useful

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:32 am

you've got right clk>colour palette now though

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:35 am

forge wrote:
peeddrroo wrote:
Surreal wrote:can we map delete to a midi note?
no
what is it people are wanting this for - I dont quite get it
you assign the delete key to some midi button.
then you are able to do some midi-deleting (useful for live-looping).
did i get it right?

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:38 am

forge wrote:you've got right clk>colour palette now though
okee :D that's nice as well..


but automatically would be more useful..
adding new clips in Session does it also..

Post Reply