I just bought I mac and Pro Tools

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

I just bought I mac and Pro Tools

Post by Sebastian » Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:03 am

Hi

I have installed Ableton, havent even opened box for Pro Tools

Any set up suggestions?

I do have a 200 GB external hard drive where I have all my ABleton songs that I created using a PC

Im totally new to Mac and Pro Tools

any basic advice thanks
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:35 am

learn ableton first

protools is a very handy application.. but after i got hooked on live, i never used it anymore
dual 1.8 G4 10.4.9 w/768 ram & A&H xone 3D


"I ain't often right but I've never been wrong"

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:04 am

I already know Ableton

I was using it on PC but that PC crashed and I got tired of Windows so I went Mac but my PC soundcard wouldnt work on Mac (Aardvark Q10, company out of biz, no driver updates)

So I bought ProTools as the Mac soundcard. Is this stupid?

Keep in mind Im not a Dj. I record live audio some midi here and there. At some point I will want to "take my stuff" to producers who use Pro Tools. Maybe Im getting it all wrong???

I can still return Pro Tools havent even opened it yet



My music school offers a Pro Tools course
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:12 am

you might like protools..
what version did you get? it's free with the hardware

so if you like the hardware thats all that matters really

i have a digi 002r and my mac liked it
dual 1.8 G4 10.4.9 w/768 ram & A&H xone 3D


"I ain't often right but I've never been wrong"

stinky
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:06 am

Post by stinky » Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:33 am

I love Protools. Learning it can only help you. And especially if you plan on collaborating with others who use it. Sounds like a win win situation to me. Keep in mind though, PT does take alot of dedication to understand. It's simple once you understand it, but way more complex than Live.

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:06 am

I think Im imgonrant of what Pro Tools does

I got the Digi 002 rack. Im not really sure what the software does....

Still debating if to return rack and get Protools console

Will I end up using both Live and Protools or not necessarily?
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:49 am

depends wht your looking to do
pro tools is straight forward and easy to learn..but it goes very very deep

if your looking to record multi track projects you cant beat it

if your looking to sketch your ideas you cant beat Live

i used to use PT all the time... recording all external gear into the computer
the editing capabilities of PT are unreal..
but the deeper and deeper iv gotten into live (putting my outboard synths on the shelf for the most part) the less and less i used protools
dual 1.8 G4 10.4.9 w/768 ram & A&H xone 3D


"I ain't often right but I've never been wrong"

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:41 am

Sorry to sound daft, but you're ignorant as to what ProTools does, yet got the digi002r and Protools?

Can you please send me some money?
:?

[I ask because for me the only reason to get the digi002r would be to obtain ProTools - it is arguably a major factor in the price tag.]
Last edited by Machinate on Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Sebastian
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:40 pm

well Im not big into deep audio editing. I just sketch and try to tweak to sound somewhat professional.

Pro Tools just comes with the Digi002 rack

Does the Digi rack have anything special?

I can still exchange it.
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

4ace
Posts: 525
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:47 am
Location: NOLA
Contact:

Post by 4ace » Mon Jul 24, 2006 2:59 pm

Sebastian wrote:well Im not big into deep audio editing. I just sketch and try to tweak to sound somewhat professional.

Pro Tools just comes with the Digi002 rack

Does the Digi rack have anything special?

I can still exchange it.
It's special in the amount of rack space it use's......2RU...come on......

If your a dj why not return the 002r and get something cheaper,perhaps an ultralite for half the price and use the free software that comes with it.

When it comes time to bring your project to a studio just bring them your rendered files from live or Audio desk(motu software).

Just my opinion,...Pro Tools is overpriced and under featured when compared to other DAWS.I get the whole "Industry standard" argument yet at the pace P.T's is going it won't be long before they shoot themselves in the foot.

Again just my opinion.

I recently moved from P.T's to Digital performer and as soon as the UB comes out i'm gonna be in mixing heaven.The new editing features along with VI's are something to behold......along with the learning curve i'm gonna be under :roll:

Food for thought.

BTW you can do your editing (what little editing you mentioned) in live just as well as pro tools if not better.
MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz 2Gb
OS X.5.7 | MOTU Ultralite | Live 8 | Ableton Drum Machine's | Addictive Drums | Conectiv+ Torq | Ms. Pinky | AudioDamage

SubQ
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: Sao Paulo-Recife-Brasil
Contact:

Post by SubQ » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:26 pm

4ace, he ain't a DJ...

digidesign is a hardware seller, PT is just the cherry on their cake. It's a powerful software, specially regarding multitrack recording, editing, and the exclusive plugins you'll only find on PT and external DSP devices (bombfactory, etc), but you should also do fine with other DAW solutions, like Logic, Nuendo/Cubase and Live.
If you like the A/D convertion and the Focusrite pres, go for it.
I find it overpriced, though... You can get a RME fireface and a Focusrite octopre for much less. Your sound quality will be better, I guess, with less dough.

But ther's no doubt PT still is the market's standard. So if you're planning to work with audio in pro studios, maybe it's the way to go.
0,02

coelho
http://soundcloud.com/coelho
Dave Smith Prophet 08 SE, Genelecs, RME Multiface, Faderfoxes, Doepfer Drehbank, Padkontrol, DIY Footcontroller, Electro Harmonix Pedals.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Jul 24, 2006 5:58 pm

SubQ wrote:digidesign is a hardware seller, PT is just the cherry on their cake.

...


I find it overpriced, though
I personally feel there is a connection between these two. The user is, to me, quite obviously paying for ProTools, whether they want it or not.

That's all I have to say. :)
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

SubQ
Posts: 531
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 1:47 pm
Location: Sao Paulo-Recife-Brasil
Contact:

Post by SubQ » Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:12 pm

(Sorry for the OT)
hey Machinate, DLing anxiously the group buy pack and the update right now.
I'm on a PC, but will I be able to also DL the mac version, just in case if I move to a mac later? Or we're just allowed to DL one of the versions?
Can't wait to open this stuff. :D
Keep us informed about the upcoming goodies from the Covert Operators.
Best and congrats for your work - i'm working privately on some device chains, waveforms and presets; maybe we can hook up onto something in a near future...
Sub
http://soundcloud.com/coelho
Dave Smith Prophet 08 SE, Genelecs, RME Multiface, Faderfoxes, Doepfer Drehbank, Padkontrol, DIY Footcontroller, Electro Harmonix Pedals.

gomi
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:46 pm

Machinate wrote:
SubQ wrote:digidesign is a hardware seller, PT is just the cherry on their cake.

...


I find it overpriced, though
I personally feel there is a connection between these two. The user is, to me, quite obviously paying for ProTools, whether they want it or not.

That's all I have to say. :)
they are because digi hardware is all crap.
plastic cheaply designed crap

i have fixed so many 002's it's not even funny anymore.


they are garbage.

stinky
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:06 am

Post by stinky » Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:03 pm

oh comon Gomi, get over yourself.. you're just a protools bashing troll.. I've had my PT rig since the 002 first came out, and i haven't had a problem with it yet.. If you bang on it like an idiot, then you get what you deserve.. Not everybody's a frustrated monkeyboy...

Post Reply