Alias/ghost clips in arrange

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
pat the dog
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:56 am
Location: londoner in amsterdam

Alias/ghost clips in arrange

Post by pat the dog » Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:56 am

I'm quite new to Live and am trying to work out if it has the equivalent of Logic's alias clips (or ghost clips in Cubase, or the way Fruity Loops maintains the relationship between patterns and their instances in a song).

The way I sometimes work in those other sequences is to create various parts in cycle mode and then create aliases/ghosts of these to draw out an initial song structure. Then I can go back and fine edit the original parts and all their aliases are automatically updated.

For example I might want to use the same clip for each chorus - if I edit the clip in the first chorus I want it to automatically update all instances of the same clip in later choruses.

It seems that each clip in Live's arrange window is independant? Am I right in saying that the clip data in arrange doesn't relate back to session - i.e. editing a clip in session doesn't automatically update the related arrange clips?

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:38 pm

oh yes - i couldnt agree more

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Alias/ghost clips in arrange

Post by geo » Thu Sep 14, 2006 3:14 pm

pat the dog wrote:I'm quite new to Live and am trying to work out if it has the equivalent of Logic's alias clips (or ghost clips in Cubase, or the way Fruity Loops maintains the relationship between patterns and their instances in a song).

The way I sometimes work in those other sequences is to create various parts in cycle mode and then create aliases/ghosts of these to draw out an initial song structure. Then I can go back and fine edit the original parts and all their aliases are automatically updated.

For example I might want to use the same clip for each chorus - if I edit the clip in the first chorus I want it to automatically update all instances of the same clip in later choruses.

It seems that each clip in Live's arrange window is independant? Am I right in saying that the clip data in arrange doesn't relate back to session - i.e. editing a clip in session doesn't automatically update the related arrange clips?
Same here, I really need this feature!

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Thu Sep 14, 2006 4:38 pm

IAC driver (or PC equivalent).

Assign your master clips a MIDI mapping, and use a MIDI sequence to trigger them.

Change the referred clip, and every instance will change. Just like ghost clips.

blakflag
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:36 pm

Post by blakflag » Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:36 pm

That's a pretty weak workaround if you're arrange-centric.

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Post by geo » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:36 pm

I still don't get it how this thing works. Anyone know any equivalent to the IAC driver? Is it like MidiYoke or something?

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:56 pm

yes
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Post by geo » Fri Sep 15, 2006 4:04 am

...by the way do you happen to know if ghost track and folder tracks are impemented in Live 6?

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Fri Sep 15, 2006 4:48 am

Nope, they ain't

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:41 am

wouldn't this be the same thing as bussing tracks into a dummy clip track? or am I not getting it?
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:47 am

It's a lot like OO programming. You have one object, and can use the object multiple times using multiple instances.

When you change the one base object, all the other instances of it inherit the new properties.

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:51 am

sounds awesome. where do i sign up?
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

geo
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:53 am
Contact:

Post by geo » Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:58 pm

timothyallan wrote:Nope, they ain't
What an omission...in my opininion.

mortenperriard
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 8:33 am
Location: DK
Contact:

Post by mortenperriard » Thu May 24, 2007 5:55 pm

Yes, this feature is a must... Arrangement View is useless without it.

cheers, Morten

reax
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:24 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Post by reax » Thu May 24, 2007 7:42 pm

Yes, I'm seriously surprised this doesn't get more whining. It seems to be just one of those standard features thats taken for granted in other DAWs.

In fact, if it wasn't for this omission I would've bought Live at 1.0 instead of 6.0. I guess the cool factor finally built up enough by 6.0 to make me overlook this lack of ghost/alias clips. :)

I've learned to work around it though. If you update one clip in arrange and need to update the rest, you just need to alt+drag the new clip and drop it directly over the other old clips (and then redrag its end point). It's a bit of a pain, but not as cumbersome as I thought it might be.

Post Reply