power cable for a tr 909

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
eturnol
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 12:15 am

power cable for a tr 909

Post by eturnol » Mon Aug 07, 2006 7:26 pm

i just bought a tr 909 earlier this year, and its great, but it came with this power cable that was actually cut to fit in the socket. Its pretty horrible, and i want to get one that actually fits correctly.

does anyone who has a tr 909 know what kind of power cable i need? the socket is a little oddly shaped, so i have no idea...

Thanks!

Parametex
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:34 pm

Post by Parametex » Mon Aug 07, 2006 8:22 pm

www.jam.se has them in sweden....

blakbeltjonez
Posts: 325
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:16 pm
Location: Florida

Re: power cable for a tr 909

Post by blakbeltjonez » Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:06 am

eturnol wrote:i just bought a tr 909 earlier this year, and its great, but it came with this power cable that was actually cut to fit in the socket. Its pretty horrible, and i want to get one that actually fits correctly.

does anyone who has a tr 909 know what kind of power cable i need? the socket is a little oddly shaped, so i have no idea...

Thanks!
the two-conductor Roland AC cable was pretty common, and i know some third party companies were still making them. should be easy to find on eBay or through an internet music store. the socket for your TR-909 should be rectangular and with 2 male pins that accepts the 2-pin female end of the cable.

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by hacktheplanet » Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:39 am

Your cable is a standard AC cable that can be purchased from many stores for under $5. Try your local computer shop. My local shop has boxes and boxes of them for like $2 a pop.
Image

flowdesigner
Posts: 930
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:58 am

Re:

Post by flowdesigner » Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:52 pm

the_planet wrote: My local shop has boxes and boxes of them for like $2 a pop.
which one?

hacktheplanet
Posts: 2846
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 6:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by hacktheplanet » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:07 pm

flowdesigner wrote:
the_planet wrote: My local shop has boxes and boxes of them for like $2 a pop.
which one?
Holy cow, thread necromancy ahoy!
That post of mine was slightly incorrect. The cable you need is an IEC C9 rather than the normal one which is a C13. You might still get lucky at a computer recycling place or thrift store though.
Reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320

Otherwise, pretty sure it's this one: http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-PWC178-Pin-P ... B000068OA6

edit: I bet it would be pretty easy to replace the C9 socket on your instrument with a C13 socket. Then you could really use the more modern/standard C13 cable... That you probably have dozens of floating around in your cable box. :D
Image

flowdesigner
Posts: 930
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:58 am

Re: power cable for a tr 909

Post by flowdesigner » Sun Oct 09, 2011 9:38 pm

yeah, I got so many of them so changing the socket is a good idea!
But the cable on amazon does not fit into the wall in europe, are they harder to find?

googoo
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 3:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: power cable for a tr 909

Post by googoo » Mon Oct 10, 2011 1:26 pm

Try www.leadsdirect.co.uk
They had some I think they were £13..........they are hard to source.
Try Ebay (UK) for Revox power leads as I think this is also what that connector type is known as. I seen some a couple of months back for £8.
Or buy the one off Amazon and cut the plug off and fit your own.

Post Reply