What hardware does Richie use?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
aleszylder
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:34 pm

What hardware does Richie use?

Post by aleszylder » Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:42 pm

Besides the 2 laptops, I think he use an effect module.. Does anyone know which one is it?

Eg. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6skeB7ofL9Q&NR

I guess he use the effects by MIDI..

I've seen Magda using the ROLAND SP-404 Sampler... But Richie I don´t know..

detroitechno
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: detroit

Post by detroitechno » Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:10 pm

No hardware effects, the modulating delay is a PSP Audioware PSP42, with the VCO being controlled through midi on his mixer.

The unit to his right of the mixer is a Peavey Grabber. Which makes loops on the fly.
A bunch of gear, cords, and a computer...

fatrabbit
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Bath, UK

Post by fatrabbit » Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:43 pm

From his picture on the Ableton frontpage.. I don't think i'd buy a used car from him.

Dr. Zoiberg
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Dr. Zoiberg » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:21 pm

heres a picture of RH powerbook
http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoiberg/223211563/

aleszylder
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:34 pm

Post by aleszylder » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:00 pm

detroitechno wrote:No hardware effects, the modulating delay is a PSP Audioware PSP42, with the VCO being controlled through midi on his mixer.

The unit to his right of the mixer is a Peavey Grabber. Which makes loops on the fly.
Thanx a lot! I think you're right, but I can't manage to get the same effect :(

DeadlyKungFu
Posts: 3603
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:26 pm

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:16 pm

Image

jngpng
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:01 pm
Location: Helsinki

Post by jngpng » Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:59 pm

Word on the street is that Richie uses his fringe to produce that trademark delay sound. Apparently it has a warmer and more analog sound than both plug-ins and standard hardware.
----------------
Macbook Pro, Fireface 400, Analog Shit

robtronik
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:16 am
Location: City Of Angels
Contact:

Post by robtronik » Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:34 pm

jngpng wrote:Word on the street is that Richie uses his fringe to produce that trademark delay sound. Apparently it has a warmer and more analog sound than both plug-ins and standard hardware.
what is his "fringe"?

rob.
http://www.robtronik.com | DJ Mixes, Blogtronik, Event Schedule

cosmosuave
Posts: 1774
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 3:36 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by cosmosuave » Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:51 pm

Image





Home of the handy man...
MD SPS-1 DARKENERGY JX-3P (PG200) Mbase01
http://soundcloud.com/cosmosuave
http://www.cosmosuave.com/

jngpng
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:01 pm
Location: Helsinki

Post by jngpng » Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:02 am

robtronik wrote:
jngpng wrote:Word on the street is that Richie uses his fringe to produce that trademark delay sound. Apparently it has a warmer and more analog sound than both plug-ins and standard hardware.
what is his "fringe"?

rob.
I believe the american translation is 'bangs'.
----------------
Macbook Pro, Fireface 400, Analog Shit

robtronik
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:16 am
Location: City Of Angels
Contact:

Post by robtronik » Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 am

oh. that's funny. I was doing google searches to find out what this new, secret tool was that I have never heard of before. I kept getting return results with quotes about his hair.

Now I know why. LOL

rob.
http://www.robtronik.com | DJ Mixes, Blogtronik, Event Schedule

the dark wizard
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by the dark wizard » Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:23 am

Dr. Zoiberg wrote:heres a picture of RH powerbook
http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoiberg/223211563/
whats that eq plug he is using in this pic?

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:25 am

macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Aug 31, 2006 8:52 am

the dark wizard wrote:
Dr. Zoiberg wrote:heres a picture of RH powerbook
http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoiberg/223211563/
whats that eq plug he is using in this pic?
So richie plays with one track that only has a psp42 :lol:
I bet he'll love the racks. That should 'minimize' his setup :wink:

It's funny how many balding nerds can make comments about Richie's hair.
I still have a good 5 years till i join that club 8)

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Post by SubFunk » Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:43 am

the dark wizard wrote:
Dr. Zoiberg wrote:heres a picture of RH powerbook
http://www.flickr.com/photos/zoiberg/223211563/
whats that eq plug he is using in this pic?
it's a Lexicon Delay / Reverb Plug.

i forgot the excact model no. i used to have it under OS9, was not even aware that it has been ported to OSX, but it's the bomb, as pretty much everything Lexicon. i think i will get it again now knowing it's avialable for OSX.
*** Image GAFM ***

Post Reply