Dj Controller for ableton : ) !

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:47 am

My motivation for a Lemur is to have multiple pages of controllers (switches page, fader page, etc), accessible at the touch of a button, and not just a single screen.

http://www.jazzmutant.com/videos/Switches.mov
http://www.jazzmutant.com/videos/Faders.mov
http://www.jazzmutant.com/videos/Multislider.mov
http://www.jazzmutant.com/lemur_in_action.php

You may as well have a hardware controller, if there's only one screen. I'm hoping DJ Grobe's controller will have many!

d.chong
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:42 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by d.chong » Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:26 am

Dear Grobe

I kinda almost dig your idea
I am a happy owner of a lemur that I mostly use for my dj gigs, and I found out that I rarely use more than 2 fingers at the time,.... but to my opinion wich is just mine,..you'll need 2 simultanuous touch because the main point in mixing is to change the volume of 2 records in the same time and this might be tricky with a single input touch screen.
Do u have a prototype of the monotouch?
if yes have u tried it?
Good luck with your project, I know that theres a lot of brothers waiting for a affordable but still cool controller.
Peace
David

Krugger
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:16 am
Location: London

Post by Krugger » Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:31 am

i promised i wont reveal Dj Grobe's plans but i feel the need to say this after d.chong's comment:

It's NOT a controller

That's all I can say

Kr.

Taiis
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:04 am
Location: Copenhagen,Denmark
Contact:

Post by Taiis » Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:23 pm

Krugger -> I'd say the description "DJ Controller" is a bit off then hehe :-)
+++ ---- +++ ----- +++ ----- +++ ----- +++
33 Koncerts, no demo, no album
http://www.thespoofkats.com

Krugger
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:16 am
Location: London

Post by Krugger » Tue Sep 05, 2006 12:29 pm

Yah!!! Iz true!
Kr.

Dj-Grobe
Posts: 812
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:13 pm

Post by Dj-Grobe » Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:28 pm

Mr d.chong i repeat this not its lemur remplacement, and never be that !

I put the word LEMUR because forum people start say, this its like lemur, and no this not its like lemur, and not its LEGO styile like lemur.
Just the look its like lemur.

Anyway i repeat , exist lot of people never absolutly never can buy the lemur because price its prohibition for their pockets.

In monotouch, cant make 2 touchs at same tme, but can use 2 fingers for mix, lol, specially with ableton you can use crossfader, and you can use SINGLE TOUCHr, specially with ableton when you no need loose time on the beatmixing.
I put video in few weeks, for show how this work , and everybody see its possible use with one touch.
Yes 2 fingers at same time its the best i know.


Aditional to that hardworking for have 2 fingers available like option : ) but i cant confirm this work ok, because on test not work perfect yet, so cant confirm this feature , and cant confirm when its available.

About if this its controller, yes its a controller.
Soon put the info in the page, have patience please, i try, put complete info possible today or tomrrow.

And i repeat one more time this no its lemur remplacement !!
You can consider like mouse remplacement, or tablet remplacemnt !!, a way to have access and take control over ableton absolutly more faster of mouse, tablet, etc etc.

Bets regards.

inis
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 9:12 pm

Post by inis » Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:23 pm

I guess two fingers is better than one, but i can do 4 things at a time with some crappy midi controller sliders/knobs. I think could be really cool, but it would have to be REALLY inexpensive.

dCross
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Ableton NY
Contact:

Post by dCross » Tue Sep 05, 2006 2:34 pm

axou wrote:
hambone1 wrote:Soft takeover is a MUST for any controller with software-configurable or moving faders/knobs, or rotary encoders.

They're not very useful otherwise.
Isn't soft-takeover a feature of the host, rather than the controller ?
i.e. the host ignores jumps and reacts to incoming data when it has reached the current parameter's value ?
it is host-based, and Live 6 now has it.

Bassfrq
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:16 am
Location: DEN:CO 303 SUCKA!!

Post by Bassfrq » Tue Sep 05, 2006 3:04 pm

Taiis wrote:This is not meant to be a sarcastic question....

Isn't this just a touchscreen version of a UC33e?

/T
UC33 has less sliders, no XY, and less buttons...

...............


If this thing was multi touch it would own!
People need to be able to use 4 fingers minimum for this to be of any use.
[i][b]Bob Dylan[/b][/i] wrote: Noting the music industry's complaints that illegal downloading means people are getting their music for free, he said, "Well, why not? It ain't worth nothing anyway."

d.chong
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:42 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by d.chong » Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:07 pm

specially with ableton you can use crossfader

sorry to tell but the crossfader in live sucks, I removed it from my configuration in the lemur

.
If this thing was multi touch it would own!
People need to be able to use 4 fingers minimum for this to be of any use.

I think that for a dj remote 2 are enough

dCross
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Ableton NY
Contact:

Post by dCross » Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:10 pm

d.chong wrote:sorry to tell but the crossfader in live sucks, I removed it from my configuration in the lemur
FYI - we've added 6 new crossfader curves in Live 6.

axou
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 10:59 am

Post by axou » Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:12 pm

dCross wrote: FYI - we've added 6 new crossfader curves in Live 6.
Did you make the crossfader send out MIDI remote data ? It seems to be the only object that doesn't send out its state to MIDI out when moved.

d.chong
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:42 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by d.chong » Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:16 pm

dCross wrote:
d.chong wrote:sorry to tell but the crossfader in live sucks, I removed it from my configuration in the lemur
FYI - we've added 6 new crossfader curves in Live 6.
that's a good news!!!!!!!

tokyojoe69
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:14 am
Location: Londontown

Re: patience : )

Post by tokyojoe69 » Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:32 pm

Dj-Grobe wrote:
Support multople screen like lemur, so you have lot of controls.
I know you didn't say multiple touch, I just wasn't exactly sure what you meant by the above. Anyway, I think it might have become quite clear to you through other peoples input in this thread that multiple touch might be something to look into. I use Live mostly for djing, I use a UC33 and a trigger finger, and at any one time always have both hands on my controllers, sometimes even straining to move 3 or 4 faders or knobs at once. So while your controller looks shit hot, the idea of being restricted to one move at a time is disconcerting.

Cheers
Emil

Bassfrq
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 1:16 am
Location: DEN:CO 303 SUCKA!!

Post by Bassfrq » Tue Sep 05, 2006 11:49 pm

I dont get what the issue is with setting up multi touch.
Its just some firmware coding and should not be that hard to do.
[i][b]Bob Dylan[/b][/i] wrote: Noting the music industry's complaints that illegal downloading means people are getting their music for free, he said, "Well, why not? It ain't worth nothing anyway."

Post Reply