Navigating LIVE with Midi Buttons?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ursinila
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:52 am

Navigating LIVE with Midi Buttons?

Post by ursinila » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:03 pm

I have a uc33E, and would like to use it to navigate clips etc etc like using the arrow keys, but stricktly with the controller. is this possible?

L-

Tarekith
Posts: 17818
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:18 pm

Yes.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
Inner Portal Studio - Professional Audio Mastering

ursinila
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:52 am

Post by ursinila » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:34 pm

i figured out how to navigate scenes, but can you navigate through the clips as well?

nolus
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:31 pm
Location: Little Blighty On The Down

Post by nolus » Tue Sep 12, 2006 9:45 pm

you can assign a button to select a particular track, but not to move to the next or previous tracks like you can with scenes.

this is something that I -really- wanted to see in live 6.

there are programs (like bohms midi translator on pc) that can map midi messages to key presses so you could perhaps map a pair of buttons to the left and right arrow keys.

I use PD (a kind of public domain version of Max MSP) for all my control mapping chores, this can't simulate key strokes (or it can but I don't know how) but it provides a graphical programming language that lets you implement just about any control mapping you can imagine.

I use a patch which lets me assign a rotary control to scan left and right through the tracks and a bunch of other controls which map to the currently selected track - eg launch/stop current clip, volume, pan, send, etc.
"That very perceptive of you Mr Stapleton, and rather unexpected... in a G Major"

John Sweet
Posts: 686
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: NYC

Post by John Sweet » Tue Sep 12, 2006 9:59 pm

You can also use Mackie Control emulation to get up/down/left/right arrows & "fire."

I think the best solution is to line this up together with MIDI-keystroke conversion on the same buttons & bank switch between them as needed. Each has its advantages.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:25 pm

Mackie Control is the thing to go for. Check out my tutorial here:

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=30237
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

ursinila
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 7:52 am

Post by ursinila » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:34 pm

so looks like i just need the protocal, sick.

eclipxe
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:27 am

Post by eclipxe » Thu Dec 27, 2007 2:30 am

Hi!

Thanks for all the info! I was wondering if you could re-post the images? They appear to be broken on the front page...

Thanks!

-Chris

Post Reply