What Features Do You Have a Hard Time Grasping in Live ??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
::mic-minimal::
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 8:32 am
Location: behind you

What Features Do You Have a Hard Time Grasping in Live ??

Post by ::mic-minimal:: » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:36 am

whats the crossfader note range feature do?

is this an esoteric feature of am i just not getting it, and while you're at it what other features have you come across in Live that you just don't get, find it hard to grasp, or would like some more laymenlike laymens terms about. please talk very slowly...... :)
for the love of Live

dCross
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Ableton NY
Contact:

Re: What Features Do You Have a Hard Time Grasping in Live ?

Post by dCross » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:38 am

::mic-minimal:: wrote:whats the crossfader note range feature do?
1. Go to midi map mode
2. Click the crossfader
3. Hit Middle C, then C again an octave up

You can now increment the crossfader in steps, along that octave, by hitting the keys. Same goes for any knob parameter in Live 6 now (I think).

John Sweet
Posts: 686
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: NYC

Post by John Sweet » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:07 am

So this is perfect for those Faderfox mini keyboards, then. Cool.

::mic-minimal::
Posts: 658
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 8:32 am
Location: behind you

Post by ::mic-minimal:: » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:48 am

sorry, I tried to warn you.... i still don't get it, and you would do what with this, I use the crossfader to crossfade between tracks, what would i be doing what you described for?
for the love of Live

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Sep 22, 2006 4:54 am

Fast cuts...

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:15 am

you'd be fading between tracks using the keyboard.

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:26 am

the scale plugin does my head in

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Fri Sep 22, 2006 5:36 am

I concur. I did get it once, but I was drunk and forgot it the next morning.

I have a hard time understanding the midi and audio side of Live. Everything else I'm pretty solid on. I am -excellent- at resizing columns and moving faders up and down.

Ball Sack
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Scrotum

Post by Ball Sack » Fri Sep 22, 2006 10:53 am

None i know it all.

Angstrom
Posts: 14722
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Angstrom » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:24 am

sweetjesus wrote:the scale plugin does my head in
The scale grid shows a diagonal correlation between the notes which come in and the (transformed) notes which will come out as midi signals. A diagonal line from bottom left to top right is 'default', with incoming notes unchanged - but by moving a note upwards or downwards you can force certain notes to be edited out of the midi note stream, effectively forcing any random keyboard bashing into a specific key.

A favourite trick is to put a scale plugin on a midi track with a midi instrument after, record a chordal midi pattern and then assign the Scale plugin to the same scale that the chords reside in. Now use lives 'map to range' function on the clip you recorded- go into midi-assign mode, select the clip and hold down C2 and C4 , you should see that the clip is assigned to play on any key from C2 to C4. Exit midi mapping mode and set the clip trigger to 1/8th . Now when playing anywhere in the C2 to C4 range the midi clip will transpose around - but it will be kept in key by the scale plugin.

http://www.teragon.org/wiki/index.php?t ... ices#Scale

not sure if that helps

Tarekith
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:32 am

I still have issues with that little "X" button in the upper right corner. I know I need to click it eventually, but I really don't want to. :)

Nixon
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Nixon » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:34 am

Tarekith wrote:I still have issues with that little "X" button in the upper right corner. I know I need to click it eventually, but I really don't want to. :)
I don't see it 8O :D
macbook 2Ghz 2GB, uc33, bcf2000, triggerfinger, monomachine, live 5.2/6.0.1, ozone 3, pure data, ultralite,
http://www.myspace.com/moderndancing

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:41 am

more please
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

anti-banausic
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: NYC

Post by anti-banausic » Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:10 am

How to do multivariate analysis. I mean come on, isn't this supposed to be better than Excel? I really thought that it would give me standard deviations, variances, correlations, variance-covariance matrixes?

Really, I thought it would compose music for me, but I think I can't find that feature?!?!?!

Bah.

Sorry, Buzzed, and late, and lonely.
Macbook c2d 2.0, 2G RAM, 160G HD 5400 RPM, OSX(10.5.5), XP Home, LIVE6, BCR 2000, UC33e, Yamaha P-200, Logic Studio, KRK V6 II

polyslax
Posts: 2402
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by polyslax » Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:10 am

Nixon wrote:
Tarekith wrote:I still have issues with that little "X" button in the upper right corner. I know I need to click it eventually, but I really don't want to. :)
I don't see it 8O :D
:lol: yeah, mac vs win again! :lol:
Image Image

Post Reply