What Features Do You Have a Hard Time Grasping in Live ??

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
noratronika
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:41 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by noratronika » Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:54 am

I'm still having trouble getting my head around Track Freeze.
ImageDellXPS M1710-2.16GHz//Event 20/20's//A LIVE6//Cubase L3//Reason 3.04//NI Electro Instruments//Motu UL FW//M-Audio FW 18/14//KorgRadias//KorgKontrol49//M-Audio Axiom25/UC-33///KP3...

hoffman2k
Posts: 14714
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:09 am

And whats the deal with all these stop buttons?

Martyn
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 11:22 am
Location: UK

Post by Martyn » Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:19 pm

I don't seem to be able to to get my head round the Grain Delay plugin, sat down many times with the intention of creating some nice presets that might help me find a use for it but I tend to give up after about 10 mins.

dave dominey
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 4:11 pm

Post by dave dominey » Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:06 pm

Martyn wrote:I don't seem to be able to to get my head round the Grain Delay plugin, sat down many times with the intention of creating some nice presets that might help me find a use for it but I tend to give up after about 10 mins.
i always like that thing on guitars (usually reversed :p )

i set it to standard intervals and keep the feedback and spray to zero, also keeping the frequency pretty low too

sounds like this

http://dominey.schtuff.com/satchel_gnomes_mp3

STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:44 pm

timothyallan wrote:I concur. I did get it once, but I was drunk and forgot it the next morning.

I have a hard time understanding the midi and audio side of Live. Everything else I'm pretty solid on. I am -excellent- at resizing columns and moving faders up and down.

That's pretty good, now I have something to work towards..

I'm pretty handy with the tab key myself. I can change the whole layout of most of the screen with one keystroke, then instantly switch it back to how it was.

I'm learning to toggle it back & forth really fast, keeps the audience guessing!


STRATEGY

STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:45 pm

hoffman2k wrote:And whats the deal with all these stop buttons?

yeah, I'd be able to find it quicker with only one, too many choices!

STRATEGY

jtenney
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:11 am
Location: Lafayette CA USA
Contact:

Post by jtenney » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:30 pm

Follow actions. I am having issues right now trying to get an unwarped track to loop properly (unwarped because it's a very soft field recording I want to use as a bed, and warping causes sound distortion). I understand the concept of how follow actions work, but even after reading the FM and the stuff on it in Chad Carrier's book, I'm having trouble applying the theory to "real world" music processing.

later,
John
www.soundclick.com/johntenney

iMac G5, Reason 3.0, Live 5, Peak 5.01 LE, mp3 Trimmer, Finale 2006, various VSTs, Yamaha PSR 170 keyboard (cheap midi controller), Evolution UC33e (not so cheap midi controller)

Hyperion
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:05 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Post by Hyperion » Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:58 pm

jtenney wrote:Follow actions. I am having issues right now trying to get an unwarped track to loop properly.
Understood. I am using unwarped samples all the time (to maintain the highest quality possible and/or the original playback speed) and so I just have to guess where at which beat and note the end point of the loop should be: 'play again' . I do not understand at all that there is no loop function for unwarped samples, just as there is no automated envelope for unwarped samples possible (in the session/clip view). I don't get it. This has to be a new feature item. For the time being, I manage...

Greetings
I don't chat.

krank
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:34 am

Post by krank » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:19 pm

I'm having a great deal of trouble with the feature of changing time signatures in arrange view being missing.

tekkers
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 5:03 pm
Location: stoke - uk
Contact:

Post by tekkers » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:40 pm

beat repeat

i load the beastie up and everytime it does anything but repeat

then i watch Robert Henke's video explaining it - and i sorta get the idea up until roberts head appears and starts spinning like a mad thing


8O

glu
Posts: 2769
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:27 am

Post by glu » Sun Sep 24, 2006 8:16 pm

customizing my workflow. I have done some handy key and midi mappings to ease the recording process, but I know I could do better and it would just be nice to be exposed to the way others customize live.

(also customizing with bomes or auto hotkeys would be nice)

I want to make the most out of Live and the SL25, but I know I am not even close, regardless of the tunes I have made. I know the setup could be better.
no prevailing genre of music:
http://alonetone.com/glu

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Post by BinaryB » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:59 am

please vote if you want to.

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=48087

Ableton Approved Hardware Poll
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Mon Sep 25, 2006 3:37 pm

at this moment i'm confused as to why a song which i warped, and is about 89bpm, displays the tempo as 60 something in the warp settings

fatrabbit
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Bath, UK

Post by fatrabbit » Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:34 pm

longjohns wrote:at this moment i'm confused as to why a song which i warped, and is about 89bpm, displays the tempo as 60 something in the warp settings
As this is the original tempo of the file before being warped? Or there's some error in warping.

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Mon Sep 25, 2006 5:20 pm

I can't for the the life of me figure out why abes selected the [-] key for "zoom out" and [shift +] for "zoom in". Why not use the 2 keys beside each other with both on shift or both without shift? Who cares what the keys are actually labeled. Sure, having [+] and [-], as labeled on the keys makes sense literally, but is 10x's more fidgety to use. :roll:

Going back and forth with the shift key is kind of silly. It would be really handy to use those keys if it weren't for the shift thing.

Sorry if I sound like I'm bitching & moaning. Ok, thinking positive...Maybe easy to use zoom keys will be a new feature in Live 6! :lol:

Post Reply