Purchase advice: Mac Book Pro any better for Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
zappen
Posts: 345
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:42 am

Post by zappen » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:30 pm

needs to be said that there are a few other issues reported about 1st generation mb and mbp :

http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... acBook_Pro
http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... le=MacBook
http://www.macbookrandomshutdown.com/
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_q ... m+shutdown
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jsp ... ID=3020016
this last link takes a minute to load.

up to you to belive those sites or not

:roll:

netchaiev
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by netchaiev » Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:57 pm

Working for Apple. and yeah, random shutdowns are a MAjor pain. It's getting resolved now. Well like it was said 10 months ago, don't get Rev A if you don't need it. Same was true withe the first Aluminium.
Hope the rev b come soon.
I'd love a machine like the Macbook Boosted. Or a cheaper 15".. been used to 15" .
Other than that the MAcbook is a much better deal/bang for bucks. 1299 euros/dollars compare to 1999...(the price of the beautiful 24" Imac)..
MBP 2011/i7/10.8/Live 8 Suite/M4L+Launchpad+TF+KorgNano.
http://soundcloud.com/netchaiev
http://www.vimeo.com/user408737

mooncaine
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 9:22 pm

Post by mooncaine » Fri Sep 29, 2006 9:25 pm

DJ VAKIS wrote:Yes i think is the same.
If you don't play games or you don't make videos,then a macbook is the way to go.
Dunno, that assumes the next program you'll want to use won't need those fancy graphics in the MBP.

Live looks pretty light, in terms of its load on the graphics processing [but what do I know?]. I don't know how heavy Reason relies on the graphics, but look at it -- it's all bitmap images. That might take up a lot of RAM that, on an MBP, would be separate from the RAM taken up by your music.

I dunno, just wanted point that out in case anyone here who's more knowledgeable could advise better.

I've been using a MBP for a few months now. Great! It gets hot, but not burning the skin hot. Too hot to actually set it in my lap after an hour or so, but then I always have it on a table or at least on a lap desk or big, flat book, just to raise it up a bit.

Turns out that helps keep the heat away from my crotch -- a plus. Look what happened to Pam, and take heed -- you wanna take care of the crotch.

milka
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2001 8:40 pm
Location: Nice(current)[Fr]

Post by milka » Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:42 am

zappen wrote:needs to be said that there are a few other issues reported about 1st generation mb and mbp :

http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... acBook_Pro
http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... le=MacBook
http://www.macbookrandomshutdown.com/
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_q ... m+shutdown
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jsp ... ID=3020016
this last link takes a minute to load.

up to you to belive those sites or not

:roll:
wowww, i watched some movies , read some threads ---- this is a very serious stuff,
that let me think twice before going to purchase anything Apple tomorrow...
i am totally puzzeled now :(
iBook G4 1Mhz/Korg Kontrol 49/Evolution U-Control/Evolution UC-33/Logic/Reason/Live/ http://www.shapko.com

theshaggyfreak
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:32 pm
Location: DC Metro
Contact:

Post by theshaggyfreak » Sat Sep 30, 2006 3:00 am

milka wrote:
zappen wrote:needs to be said that there are a few other issues reported about 1st generation mb and mbp :

http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... acBook_Pro
http://www.appledefects.com/wiki/index. ... le=MacBook
http://www.macbookrandomshutdown.com/
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_q ... m+shutdown
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jsp ... ID=3020016
this last link takes a minute to load.

up to you to belive those sites or not

:roll:
wowww, i watched some movies , read some threads ---- this is a very serious stuff,
that let me think twice before going to purchase anything Apple tomorrow...
i am totally puzzeled now :(
The Intel Macs are still rather new and I'm not surprised that there are problems. I personally don't ever believe it's good to buy a computer that is at this sort of level when using it in a production environment. It's just the nature of the beast. Looking back in history, you can find tons of products that suffered in the early stages post release (the original Pentium processor for example). I'm going to stick with my Powerbook G4 1.5ghz for quite some time..at least another year.

DJ VAKIS
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:26 am
Location: MUNICH-GERMANY
Contact:

Post by DJ VAKIS » Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:48 am

Don't belive all.
http://www.myspace.com/djvakis
http://mix2r.fm/audio/user/221


----------------------------------------
MacBookPro 13" Core 2 Duo 2.26Ghz 2GB
Live 8 -Operator -Sampler
AKAI LPD8-GENELEC 1029A-iPhone runing TouchOSC.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:34 am

you will see such a large performance increase, you'll be jaw/dropped for months 8O

Just make sure that it is not a 4200 harddrive (yeah, plenty of people have em and are ok ) and if you can......get the 7200 rpm model/s....AND make sure you get at least a one gb stick of ram to add to the 512mb......

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:36 am

Oh, and I forgot, on the original macbook pro, there were some issues.......just get second or higher :)

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:43 am

I saw a couple of "this or that" about pro vs. regular macbook and wanted to make sure I pointed something out.

the motherboards are now intel.....which means if you have shared graphics, you will loose at least some performance......how much is subjective.

When we drag/drop/click/mouse/view.......what are we really doing? Looking at graphics. There is no way and will probably never be a way for shared graphics to be any match for a separate graphic card.

Live probably doesn't eat much........but I'm willing to bet that some of the 3rd party plugs do.

In the end it's all about dollars and sense.........

formatk
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by formatk » Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:01 am

MacBook Pro and MacBooks are both completely capable. I use AfterEffects on my MacBook, and even though Adobe software isn't native yet, I've produced a 40 min animation on it no problems. With the money you save on the Pro, max it out with RAM, and the less you spend, means you can upgrade to the next version of a laptop sooner if you wish. You won't be disapointed with either. plus the power adaptor for the MacBook's about half the size of the Pro version if you're carrying your computer around with you.

muscleandhate
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:54 pm

Post by muscleandhate » Sat Sep 30, 2006 1:55 pm

I've got a Macbook 2GHz with 512RAM, white. Live runs well but sometimes I experience audio dropouts. Logic Express 7.2 runs amazing, I've got like 20 tracks all with synths, effects, reverbs and it just works without breaking a sweat. Of course logic is optimised for OSX and it also for multicore. Seeing as Live 5.2 seemed like a last minute thing, I'm hoping LIVE 6 will work better on my Macbook.

Battery life is around 3/3.5 hours depending on settings.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:37 pm

muscleandhate wrote:I've got a Macbook 2GHz with 512RAM, white. Live runs well but sometimes I experience audio dropouts.
Get more ram. ASAP ;-)
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

muscleandhate
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:54 pm

Post by muscleandhate » Sat Sep 30, 2006 6:00 pm

Word!




...Anyone lend me some money? I don't need much, just enough for 2GB RAM, the upgrade to Logic Pro and Live 6.

milka
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2001 8:40 pm
Location: Nice(current)[Fr]

Post by milka » Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:34 pm

Machinate wrote:
muscleandhate wrote:I've got a Macbook 2GHz with 512RAM, white. Live runs well but sometimes I experience audio dropouts.
Get more ram. ASAP ;-)
i got ibook G4 1 Mhz and also get random short audio drop outs ....
maybe its something to do with Tiger?
iBook G4 1Mhz/Korg Kontrol 49/Evolution U-Control/Evolution UC-33/Logic/Reason/Live/ http://www.shapko.com

capta1nA
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:43 pm

Post by capta1nA » Mon Oct 09, 2006 4:28 pm

my only concern with the macbook is lack of firewire 800 - although that is also lacking on the 15" MBP...need the 17" for that :roll:

Post Reply