Got My New Live6 But need help with Kontrol49

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
milka
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2001 8:40 pm
Location: Nice(current)[Fr]

Post by milka » Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:48 pm

milka wrote:I can't figure how to make the Pads on Korg Kontrol49 to work with impulse :(
i am using Live 5 with OSX Tiger.

anyone wiches to share the Kontrol49 template that works with Simpler?

thanks in advance -
milka
finally figured out the WAT to make Pads to work with Impuls + Lve 5.x.x :

Opened Kontrol49 editor and edited the pads as follows:

Changed the velocity secitive to a fixed velocity of 100 (personal preference)
Edited Pad 1-8 MIDI channel 1 notes from C4,D4,E4,F4,G4,A4,B4,C5
Pad 8-16 MiDI channel 2 notes from C4,D4,E4,F4,G4,A4,B4,C5

than i've edited keyboard to recieve on MIDI channel 3
to be able to play two instances of Impulse ( all 16 pads) and any other MIDI track (simpler) on the keyaboard all at the same time!
it all worked fine - great!
iBook G4 1Mhz/Korg Kontrol 49/Evolution U-Control/Evolution UC-33/Logic/Reason/Live/ http://www.shapko.com

macmurphy
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:21 am
Location: Emneth,Norfolk, UK

Post by macmurphy » Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:08 am

Tosh wrote:Anyone else having trouble with Automapping of Kontrol to Live 6.

Mine does not seem to be doing anything. Keys are all fine but none of the faders and rotary's are working.

Works like a charm in Reason.

Any help would be much appreciated.
I'm having trouble with this too. Followed the lessons, read the manual, checked on the forums and still no luck! Please, someone help us!

macmurphy
Posts: 1431
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 7:21 am
Location: Emneth,Norfolk, UK

Post by macmurphy » Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:52 am

Nobody can, or wants, to help?

noratronika
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:41 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by noratronika » Sat Oct 28, 2006 6:50 am

personally i have found automapping a pain in za butt, I tend to customize all my mapping as I go. Kontrol 49 is the best controller I've ever owned.
ImageDellXPS M1710-2.16GHz//Event 20/20's//A LIVE6//Cubase L3//Reason 3.04//NI Electro Instruments//Motu UL FW//M-Audio FW 18/14//KorgRadias//KorgKontrol49//M-Audio Axiom25/UC-33///KP3...

nfms
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 7:19 pm
Location: Rotterdam, Holland

Post by nfms » Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:13 pm

Tone Deft wrote:Nice feedback. :D

Yep, that's the hand.

Check that you have the correct Kontrol 49 OS update for Live 6. The files are in a directory in the Program Files/Ableton/<something>/control surfaces directory, poke around, it's pretty obvious. Then use a program like MIDI OX to send the update, or use the editing software for your K49.

Hi,

I've got a problem sending the information,
I can send information to my k49 with the Editor Librarian (the software for k49) but the 'dump' button in live is greyed out so it doesn't send the Live information to the k49. I can't open the files in the Ableton directory with the librarian, so what are the steps to take ?

Any help would be nice :D

How exaclty can I send it ?
www.optech-dnb.com
www.myspace.com/optechdnb
Dark Audio Visual Drum and Bass
Ableton Live 6 // Resolume 2.4 // Behringer BCF2000 // Zero remote SL // Edirol UA-25 // UC-33 // Access Virus B // Macbook core2duo // 2x SL 1210 // SMX 401

ToneDunce
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 5:01 pm

Post by ToneDunce » Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:03 am

Yes, the automapping for KONTROL49 is really broken. Can't get it to work, I even updated the Korg Firmware recently in the hopes that'd help it run the native mode for live better, but no luck. It has no effect.

jamesp
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:16 am

Post by jamesp » Thu Jan 25, 2007 4:23 am

noratronika wrote:personally i have found automapping a pain in za butt, I tend to customize all my mapping as I go. Kontrol 49 is the best controller I've ever owned.
Nice to hear somebody else saying that.

I made an Impulse scene for the pads, but in the end, found it a lot easier to just pound out beats on the keys themselves. I mostly use the pads for scene selection, transport controls, tap and general switching within VSTs.

iMark
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 10:33 am
Location: England, UK

Post by iMark » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:18 pm

so has nobody managed to get their Kontrol 49 instantly mapping yet?

i'm using one too and i've been messing with it for ages but it just isn't working... ugh.

think i'm gonna sell and get a Novation ReMOTE SL

Post Reply