nintendo vst win/osx !

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

nintendo vst win/osx !

Post by Johnisfaster » Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:02 pm

http://www.ymck.net/english/download/index.html

listen to the demo... I was rather impressed.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

dm_hawk
Posts: 673
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:01 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Post by dm_hawk » Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:24 pm

8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O

:D

it's a thing of beauty.
..... . . . . . . . . .

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:42 pm

There is a cool VST called 8-bit that lets you draw in the wave form.
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:49 pm

dm_hawk wrote:8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O

:D

it's a thing of beauty.
be sure and automate the pitch bend in your midi clip, use an unlinked clip automation that is very very short, thats the best way to get classic nintendo modulations I was finding out just now.
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:19 pm

-and unsynced arpeggiators set to 30ms ;)
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:33 pm

Anyone else find it crashes Live ?
I sent ableton info about this a while ago..I cannot use it.
:cry:
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:45 pm

I just did a little funky song with like 6 of them going on, no crashes.

are you using the vst or au?
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.


Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:24 am

tweekbench is nice but it's all sample based so it's hard to make the sound your own
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:38 am

Johnisfaster wrote:are you using the vst or au?
I am using the au version...i didn't know there was a vst osx version...
Is this what you are using too, the au ?
I was well disappointed when I couldn't use it, but I sent the files to ableton incase it was an incompatibility.
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

Johnisfaster
Posts: 7251
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by Johnisfaster » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:40 am

strange, it's working fine for me on osx, au version. ableton 6.0.1.

hm...

the only problem I'm having is that the site claims it has 5 waveforms to choose from and I can only see 3 to choose from...
It was as if someone shook up a 6 foot can of blood soda and suddenly popped the top.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:43 am

Thats weird...
I could play a few notes before live just disappeared off my screen. I'll give it another try and see what happens.
Thanks for the info Johnisfaster.
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

j0shu@
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:27 pm
Location: tn
Contact:

Post by j0shu@ » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:50 am

well, here is the sample based NES drum kit:
http://www.tweakbench.com/instruments.php?id=10

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:58 am

Yeah just to confirm the ymck one is crashing here.
Everything is fine until I pressed play and record enabled the track (I was playing for 10 mins no problems with monitor IN on the midi track). Just wanted to record the midi.
Also got the same problem with only three waveforms, no pwm.
:cry:
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

leisuremuffin
Posts: 4721
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by leisuremuffin » Tue Oct 24, 2006 5:17 am

Johnisfaster wrote:strange, it's working fine for me on osx, au version. ableton 6.0.1.

hm...

the only problem I'm having is that the site claims it has 5 waveforms to choose from and I can only see 3 to choose from...

damn, no freq sweep feature either on the AU. very odd, cause i've seen screen shots of it in garage band with all of the extra parameters... whats up with that?




no crashes here though on live 6...





.lm.
TimeableFloat ???S?e?n?d?I?n?f?o

Post Reply