The Covert Operators: The Covert Seq

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

The Covert Operators: The Covert Seq

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:52 pm

We are proud to bring you the biggest rack you've probably ever seen.

The Covert Seq is a 16 step sequencer made in and for Live 6.
It is operated by a combination of MIDI effect racks, MIDI effects and MIDI clip automation.

The sequencer is very flexible and easy to operate. There are 4 ways to operate the sequencer:

• Using the mouse.
• Using clip automation.
• Using a MIDI controller and the “MIDI Learn” protocol.
• Using a MIDI controller and the “Automapping” protocol.

Head on over to our site to discover the details.
http://www.thecovertoperators.org/archives/77

Cheers

- The Covert Operators
Last edited by hoffman2k on Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DeadlyKungFu
Posts: 3603
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:26 pm

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:54 pm

8O good god man. 8O


<boobies post in 3...2...1...>

john gordon
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 12:24 am
Location: Delaware

Post by john gordon » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:08 pm

lol. that thing is sick. i wonder how that would work with battery 3.

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:20 pm

That's great and alll but I can't for the life of me figure out WHAT this does, HOW this works or WHY you would want to use it?

I have had a bit of trouble getting my melon around racks in general, as I find the documentation in the manual very lacking in this regard, so what does this thing do, how does it work, and why would anyone want to use it?

Not that I doubt its usability... I just DON'T GET IT.

:?
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:21 pm

john gordon wrote:lol. that thing is sick. i wonder how that would work with battery 3.
It works with any synth and sampler. It's just a MIDI device that hardly uses any CPU. You can run multiple instances of these sequencers and feed them into one or more instances of battery.

We'll put some audio samples up later.

Cheers

- B

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:30 pm

kabuki wrote:That's great and alll but I can't for the life of me figure out WHAT this does, HOW this works or WHY you would want to use it?

I have had a bit of trouble getting my melon around racks in general, as I find the documentation in the manual very lacking in this regard, so what does this thing do, how does it work, and why would anyone want to use it?

Not that I doubt its usability... I just DON'T GET IT.

:?
You feed notes to 16 different steps. The steps can be configured in any combination you wish.
The 16 steps have 8 controls on them to tweak the note before it goes to the synth.
The various patterns are there to allow you to mix up the order of the notes being played.
This is great for improvisation, drum patterns, sliced loops,.....

It's a very versatile and modular machine to play with.
It's hard to explain how it operates. But there will eventually be a tutorial about this and other wacky rack stuff.

bonomius
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 12:41 pm
Location: italy
Contact:

Post by bonomius » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:35 pm

awesome!
I'm already playing with it, thanks for the fast mail :-)
Random step play is very useful! I needed it!
Can't wait to get the new pack for live 6!

ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Post by ethios4 » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:36 pm

Nice Rack!

DIgiDennis
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:07 am
Location: DK - 1659

Post by DIgiDennis » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:28 pm

chain selector is your friend....thx for the idea!

DeadlyKungFu
Posts: 3603
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:26 pm

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:27 am

The Covert Operators are teh little red piano.

This seq is SICK.

Been playing it with a BCR, top row is velocity, below is pitch, bottom is note length, over two presets = 16 steps. Top of the BCR encoder group A are the global settings. Also automap on the SL25 for the global stuff helps to remember what they all are.

Preset idea:
Multiple tracks of this beast, each controlling a different drum part, the notes are different flavors of each drum, kick, snare, hi hat, etc. If you don't make it, I'll have to (I have plenty of vacation time at work.)

Killer rack, insane beast that it is, many thanks! Oh, and thanks in advance when/if I figure out how it all works.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:09 pm

DeadlyKungFu wrote:This seq is SICK.

Been playing it with a BCR, top row is velocity, below is pitch, bottom is note length, over two presets = 16 steps. Top of the BCR encoder group A are the global settings. Also automap on the SL25 for the global stuff helps to remember what they all are.
Check the manual for tips on automapping. You can control this whole sequencer with 8 knobs and the arrow keys.

You can feed it with an arp or even live input..

The tutorial on this thing is actually more work then the thing itself.
Mostly because the current sequencer is just version 1 of a long line off mad devices.

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:13 pm

this looks immense. Im not quite sure what I would do with it though, although for that price im tempted to go for it anyway. Is it much quicker than adding notes to a midi clip or is that not the point?

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:37 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Check the manual for tips on automapping. You can control this whole sequencer with 8 knobs and the arrow keys.
where abouts in the manual is automapping? Its not in the index...

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:52 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Check the manual for tips on automapping. You can control this whole sequencer with 8 knobs and the arrow keys.
where abouts in the manual is automapping? Its not in the index...
Well thats about it really.
If you have a controller that supports automapping. You can control it with the 8 parameters that are aotmatically mapped to the macro's.

You can move from one step to the other with the arrow keys.

The bit about automapping in the manual can be found in the tips and tricks bit.

Cheers

- B

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:18 pm

haha i must be a dumbass but where's the tricks & tips bit in the manual?!

Post Reply