new MacBook core 2 duo!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Randolf Reimann
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:41 am
Location: Byron Bay Australia
Contact:

new MacBook core 2 duo!

Post by Randolf Reimann » Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:54 am

Hi to all ya nice ableton freaks, OK, OK I've asked similar questions in the past but Ableton folk are nicer and straighter than the sales people at apple.

I'm upgrading my trusty TiBook to one of those sweet looking MacBooks with tha nu core 2 duo!

me first question to ya's is 'is a larger harddrive liable to F@#k up?

Also I see that the 200GB drive is 4200 rpm and the 160GB is 540 rpm. Should I stay clear of the bigger, slower drive?

any other insights that someone may have about this upgrade is much appreciated

Thanx in advance to ya'll for reading my question.

Keep muking music people!

luv & peace

R.

Contra
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Miami,FL. USA
Contact:

Post by Contra » Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:58 am

if u wanna wild out the mac book pro(not sure of the mac book) can have up to 3 gb ram.!!!!!

rock on brother.

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:03 am

I'd get the 160 gb drive if I were you. Should be fine. Wouldn't do the 4200 though.

Byron eh? Guess its just getting pretty nuts there right about now eh?. I lived there for a couple months a few years ago, actually about a twenty minute bike ride north. Felt like i was going in to the big city when I went in to surf, it's crazy in the summer.

enjoy yer MBP,
peace,

grb
Professional Shark Jumper.

koneko
Posts: 587
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:32 am
Location: berlin

Post by koneko » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:28 am

the macbook hd's are SATA. that means you wont find a fast HD (7200rpm) over 100GB for a reasonable price, or at all. i thought it's necessary to have a fast hd. it is a serious bottleneck on laptops, and speed up overall performance in a way you really feel it. didnt have experience with 5400rpm though, so i cant say how good it works.
i would suggest to stay away from the 4200 for music production.
and
you can upgrade your macbook all by yourself, RAM and HD. so i suggest buying good components. from apple, get only the basic configuration. their upgrades are expensive.

djmyke
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 6:05 pm
Location: Philippines

Post by djmyke » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:58 am

got no prob with my internal 200gb 4200rpm...

still the same... more storage... well i nid more storage 4 portability...

better get the 160gb 5200 if ur not confident with the 200
_________________________________________________
imac 24' aluminum 2.8ghz 4gbRAM, 320gb HD,

live 7. reason 4
maudio fwire 410 axiom 49. fcb1010
taylor 614ce
banshee talkbox

Randolf Reimann
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:41 am
Location: Byron Bay Australia
Contact:

thanx everyone

Post by Randolf Reimann » Mon Nov 13, 2006 9:52 pm

thanx to ya'll for taking the time to answer my question, I think I'll go for the 160GIG.

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:40 pm

Don't forget: The Vid Ram is shared with the System Ram. Make sure the 2 chips are the same size and maufacturer to get the best performance.

Enjoy.
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

Randolf Reimann
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:41 am
Location: Byron Bay Australia
Contact:

2 gig ram

Post by Randolf Reimann » Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:49 pm

I was just going to get the extra ram installed by apple, buying on line and just clicking on the 2 gig.

Is this what you were talking about?

thanx

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:53 pm

Sort of. They way they will do it is the correct way, but you could buy it from a slightly cheaper source and install it yourself...

Might as well let Apple do it, though.
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

Randolf Reimann
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:41 am
Location: Byron Bay Australia
Contact:

Yeah

Post by Randolf Reimann » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:00 pm

Yeah, I have installed extra ram on my old TiBook and on my girlfriends IBook but it's less hassel to just get it shipped with the extras. Plus I live quite a distance from any major city so I'd first have to order the ram from somewhere and then wait till it arrives! I've got a gig in sydney on the 24th Nov, but I don't think I can last that long.

thanx Kabuki. much appreciated.

r.

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:35 pm

cheers
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

shaneblyth
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:02 am

Post by shaneblyth » Wed Nov 15, 2006 12:35 am

kabuki wrote:Don't forget: The Vid Ram is shared with the System Ram. Make sure the 2 chips are the same size and maufacturer to get the best performance.

Enjoy.
test show that this is such a little difference you wont notice it.
it only relates to video memory or to put it plan if you have an app that is hard on the video specs. I have 1.25 gb in my mac mini a 256 and 1 gb after doing some research and the speed specs so no difference in live and the like soo dont panic over it
MacbookPro Core2Duo 17" 160 gb SATA 2gb ram.
Korg M3
1 Terabyte External Drive
Presonus Firebox
Live 6,

BinaryB
Posts: 1016
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:04 am
Location: Sydney / SanFrancisco

Post by BinaryB » Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:42 am

shaneblyth wrote:
kabuki wrote:Don't forget: The Vid Ram is shared with the System Ram. Make sure the 2 chips are the same size and maufacturer to get the best performance.

Enjoy.
test show that this is such a little difference you wont notice it.
it only relates to video memory or to put it plan if you have an app that is hard on the video specs. I have 1.25 gb in my mac mini a 256 and 1 gb after doing some research and the speed specs so no difference in live and the like soo dont panic over it
How is the performance of your mini ?

are you using Live rewired into logic pro ?

Cheers
B
Live8 & Serato
Download NYE'08 DJset

funknotik
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:22 am
Location: earth

Post by funknotik » Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:53 am

Now that where on the topic of mac books, so i dont have to start a new thread. If im going to use it just for music production is it sufficiently powered. Also are all the software upgrades available for reaktor and ableton for the new macbooks core 2 duo to run well??
Two technics 1210 turntables, alot of guitars, 2gig Sony vgz fz290, 2gig frankenstein pc, mbox, ableton, flstudio, recycle, the infinity gauntlet, and alot of spare time..

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Post by rbmonosylabik » Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:08 am

funknotik wrote:Now that where on the topic of mac books, so i dont have to start a new thread. If im going to use it just for music production is it sufficiently powered. Also are all the software upgrades available for reaktor and ableton for the new macbooks core 2 duo to run well??
Reaktor isn't Intel compatible yet, so it will run under Rosetta emulation, which will cause a performance decrease and won't let you use it as a plug-in if your host (Live) is running natively.

Live is natively compatible (Universal Binary) for versions 5.2.2 and 6.0.1. If you have an older version you'll have to upgrade.

If you use Reaktor extensively, you'll have to wait for a while until they make it Universal Binary or look for other plug-ins that do what you need to do in the meantime. While you wait, why don't you join the fun in one of the multiple "damn you NI, damn you to hell!!" threads. It's fun :wink:
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Post Reply