CAN YOU ACTUALLY CREATE MUSIC ON ABLETON WITHOUT EXTERNALS?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
THE FREEEK

CAN YOU ACTUALLY CREATE MUSIC ON ABLETON WITHOUT EXTERNALS?

Post by THE FREEEK » Fri Nov 17, 2006 8:57 am

hELP!!! I am totally new to ableton and just loaded it onto my dell insperon 9400 Lappy. So far I have got no external sound sources at all, but I thought I could create music just with what Ableton provides on Live 6. So far I havent managed to get a single sound out of it except in demo mode. Do I need plug ins? or what about Ableton Operator? Please help as if I need to get external synths etc, ill have to put em on my christmas list!!

Thanks dudes!(and dudettes if any out there) :P

Machinate

Post by Machinate » Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:05 am

yes and no, you can manipulate almost any sound into music with the included Simpler/Impulse and audio clips. So the first thing is to get a bucket-full of samples off the interweb and throw them into Simpler.

If you find you still want more sounds (and who doesn't) I can wholeheartedly recommend going here:
http://www.kvraudio.com/get.php
- quite honestly there are so many *free* synths out there that you can go right ahead and ask your gran to get you tubesocks for christmas.

- having said that, Operator kicks ass.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Johnisfaster

Post by Johnisfaster » Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:24 am

definetly get a bunch of freeware like he says.

but to answer the question of CAN YOU ACTUALLY CREATE MUSIC ON ABLETON WITHOUT EXTERNALS? you absolutely possitively can and lots of people do. I make music using ableton + plugins these days. some of them are freeware some of them I've paid for. operator is great but it only fits some people, I use it but I understand that it's certainly not for everyone.

to get a look at more freeware go check out dontcrack.com you'll find free plugins there and also maybe some cheap payware.