Composing in Live - What method works for you?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
freqn

Composing in Live - What method works for you?

Post by freqn » Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:24 pm

What method do you use when writing new material with live. Do you record all your clips then do arrangement? Do you record only a few, then start an arrangement and go from there? Do you record on the fly? Sorry if my questions are too vague. I am fairly new to the software and I'm just trying to see what different techniques are used and how you keep the creative flow going.

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:45 pm

For writing original tunes in Live, I mainly just stay in Arrange view like a typical DAW. Session view for me is just for performing live or DJ sets. Some people like to sketch out tunes in session view, then fine tune in Arrange view. If I had a controller I was happy with, I'd probably work this way too.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering

Poster

Post by Poster » Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:32 pm

basicly;

First sketch in Session..
Make loops in a couple of scenes, like different stages in the song..
This way you can sort of hear the song allready; get the feel of the progression..

Then record a basic arrangement by jamming in Session > record all in Arrange..

Then finetuning in Arrange..

mbenigni

Post by mbenigni » Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:40 pm