What is the best hard drive for trance?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

What is the best hard drive for trance?

Post by timothyallan » Tue Dec 05, 2006 4:25 am

edit: fixed my problem. Now back to trance.


cheers,
tim
Last edited by timothyallan on Wed May 28, 2008 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kodama
Posts: 1949
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:07 am
Location: PDX

Post by Kodama » Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:10 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
GO VEGAN!!! - Macbook Air, Bass Station II, Some Korg shit, Live Suite, U-He, Audio Damage, Microtonic, Ohmicide, more soft stuffs, awesome controllers, euro rack modular synth,an awesome cat.

simpleton
Posts: 913
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Location: Location:

Post by simpleton » Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:17 am

a real fast one
Image
The Leveller wrote:Wow, a weird shaped dead coral with sh!t stuck to it. Proof indeed of supernatural abilities.

james Egan
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 8:20 am
Location: tha real world

Post by james Egan » Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:44 am

onr thst spins at 130bpm with a 16 step cache.

jb61264
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Nebraska, USA

Post by jb61264 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:21 am

I thought EvilEvilEvilEvil was asking questions again :lol:
3.2 GHz Windows XP, Live 7, Reason 4, FL Studio 7, Stylus RMX, Sytrus, Toxic III, Novation X-Station 49, Akai MPD24, EMu XK6, Roland MC-303, Gemini BPM5000 Mixer, MBox

Approach
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 1:37 am
Location: Badassville

Post by Approach » Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:45 am

this thread delivers

pete1
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:22 pm
Location: Leeds, UK

Post by pete1 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:42 am

if i were you mate i'd go for a techno hard drive, those 130bpm drives are way too flimsy
3.2Ghz 1024DDR XP M-Audio FireWire Live 6.0.1 Reason 3.0 BCR2000 MK249 2x 1210mk2 DJM600

Lord Kahn
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:51 pm

Post by Lord Kahn » Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:59 am

Be careful of some of the cheaper models, I got a generic electro hard drive recently but it's only suitable for soft rock, everything sounds like you have a poodle perm. Avoid

subterFUSE
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Winter Park, FL

Post by subterFUSE » Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:26 pm

Just don't get any bubblegum or cheese stuck in your trance drive. It will make a mess. :wink:
M-Tech D900T laptop, 17" WSXGA+ wide-screen, Intel Pentium 4 3.4 GHz HT (600 series) 2 MB cache, 2048 RAM (Dual Channel DDR2 PC4200 533 MHz), Dual hard drives: 80 gig x 2 = 160 gig SATA 5400 rpm (RAID 0 config)
Korg Zero 8 mixer/soundcard/MIDI

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:47 pm

Mine has green glowsticks on the platter that spin around when it's reading and writing.

corygilbert
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: kyoto, japan
Contact:

Post by corygilbert » Tue Dec 05, 2006 1:07 pm

oooh, I like this idea, the fake out topic to serious question switcheroo. :D
I predict this will become the defacto method of posting by 2008.

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:01 pm

edit

roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

Post by roach808 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:13 pm

Lord Kahn wrote:Be careful of some of the cheaper models, I got a generic electro hard drive recently but it's only suitable for soft rock, everything sounds like you have a poodle perm. Avoid


Yeah I ran into a similar problem I picked up a progressive house firewire drive, but i can only use it for power ballads and folk music. Its really kinda wierd..... :?



some nites tho i get really lucky if the temperture in the studio is under 74degrees I can briefly do gangsta rap too.
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

Lord Kahn
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:51 pm

Post by Lord Kahn » Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:15 pm

Have you tried increasing the bassline cache?

roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

Post by roach808 » Tue Dec 05, 2006 2:17 pm

Lord Kahn wrote:Have you tried increasing the bassline cache?
no got too busy tweeking around the interocitor settings.
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

Post Reply