How Close is Ableton to Incorporating a Slicer into Live ???

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Tone Deft
Posts: 23740
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:04 am

R.J.Dubya wrote:This is glitchrock-buddha btw.

peace,

grb.... I mean rjw.
So this is "the one after 909"?

I forgot to mention Beat Repeat, that was a free instrument, I could see them releasing Beat RepeatER as the update. BR is cool but could use some of the features in other glitchers.


btw you should get over the mentality that you can't use some bit of gear, you can use it just don't let it sound typical, there's a difference.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, guitars, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

reax
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:24 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Post by reax » Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:14 am

The one thing I haven't seen mentioned yet, that I'd like to see out of a Slicer, is slice-based stretching (ie, stretching based on transient detection, instead of fixed intervals). Unless that's how complex mode works. I'm still learning Live, so pardon my ignorance if stretching based on transient detection is already in Live.

In FL Studio I could drop a beat on the FL Slicer and it would be automatically sliced, and even better, fit to the project tempo. It was a much cleaner way to stretch a beat, as you didn't have any stretching artifacts. It just stretches the intervals between slices.

The FL Slicer is really the only thing I've missed since making the "switch". :)

Adonis
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Adonis » Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:30 am

Tone Deft wrote:I'd say they're 4 away maybe 5.
Nah dawg, 8 maybe 9 days from the last day of the beta next week, I think. Probably...

Tone Deft
Posts: 23740
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:36 am

Adonis wrote:
Tone Deft wrote:I'd say they're 4 away maybe 5.
Nah dawg, 8 maybe 9 days from the last day of the beta next week, I think. Probably...
I didn't mean days, I meant 4 maybe 5. Could be days, could be years, could be SECONDS (quick, hit REFRESH)!!

It could make for a notable plug-in for sale with Live 7, gives me an idea... :twisted:
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, guitars, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Adonis
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Seattle

Post by Adonis » Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:39 am

Tone Deft wrote:
Adonis wrote:
Tone Deft wrote:I'd say they're 4 away maybe 5.
Nah dawg, 8 maybe 9 days from the last day of the beta next week, I think. Probably...
I didn't mean days, I meant 4 maybe 5. Could be days, could be years, could be SECONDS (quick, hit REFRESH)!!

It could make for a notable plug-in for sale with Live 7, gives me an idea... :twisted:
Ok that makes sense

You shouldn't wait until Live 7 though - Live 6.5

glu
Posts: 2769
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:27 am

Post by glu » Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:49 am

for 6.5....

single key command mapping and I would be happy :?
no prevailing genre of music:
http://alonetone.com/glu

Winterpark
Posts: 1671
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 2:59 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Winterpark » Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:16 am

i got another way...

open impulse in a midi channel and your loop to be sliced in an audio channel.

loop the audio file, and set the start and end point so it's as short as you need it to be. (each hit/16th note/whatever...)

then just drag the loop into a slot in sampler, go back, find teh next section/slice you want and drag that into the next slot... and so on... not a one step solution, but you don't have to leave session view.

:)M
web | fb | sc | twt | bc

R.J.Dubya
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:26 am
Location: Guelph, Ontario.

Post by R.J.Dubya » Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:45 am

Tone Deft wrote:
R.J.Dubya wrote:This is glitchrock-buddha btw.

peace,

grb.... I mean rjw.
So this is "the one after 909"?
You got it! Life after 909! :lol:
aka glitchrock-buddha
303 posts as Winston

Macbook pro C2D 2.16, Firepod, rubber band and a stick.

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:41 am

tricil wrote:same reason why many idm heads frown upon supatrigga and dblue glitch.

do your own fucking work.
you're kidding right :roll: , so using a transient detector is not doing your own fucking work. dude you sound like you got kicked in the nuts and stayed bent over for the rest of your life. look up dude.
why do you even have a computer, why even post, why not just write a real letter and send it to ableton and have them post it for you.

this topic is fuckin rediculous for 3 reasons.

1. ableton Live should of had a slicer in version 1.0
2.this thread is full of people who don't use slicers, how the fuck can you say we don't need one.
3. its starting to piss me off and deteriorate my cheery disposition.
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14706
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:49 am

What you seem to be missing is one simple point...
To detect transients, we basically need another warp mode.
So you're not asking for a slicer (because live is a slicer).
You're asking for a new algorithm that'll save you some time.

Like autowarp for smaller loops...

hoffman2k
Posts: 14706
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:50 am

Btw: if you plan on quoting me in your sig. At least put a question mark behind the last sentence :wink:

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:52 am

hoff thats only if they choose to use warp technology, if it could fly that'd be cool, why should another algorithm be that diff for them. but what I've been originaly talking about since day one is a simple slicer ala recycle, mpc, fruity. no warping is needed.
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:12 pm

why not just use an existing slicer?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14706
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:12 pm

stale bread wrote:hoff thats only if they choose to use warp technology, if it could fly that'd be cool, why should another algorithm be that diff for them. but what I've been originaly talking about since day one is a simple slicer ala recycle, mpc, fruity. no warping is needed.
I'm really just thinking out loud.
What you seem to be asking for is an offline operation.
I'm looking for a real-time solution.
I am totally opposed to any feature that requires you to stop audio playback.
Mainly because I bought Live to play and compose Live.

I'm not opposed to having a slicer. But i don't just want a copied feature from some other app that turns Live into an editor.
There's way more potential in being able to slice warped clips.
Mainly because it would be a pretty quick operation to do loads of these files, doesn't require another format and it doesn't require offline processing.

Imagine this as a solution for example:

- You warped a file to split it up into the pieces you want.
- Right-click on it to select an option that loads these files into sampler or a rack of simplers.

Done...

Like i said. I'm just thinking out loud.
If you ask Ableton for a feature, you gotta be more specific then "i want it to be like recycle".
Chances are that they don't give a damn what other apps do.
They're looking at how they can make Live do it.
(this applies for any feature request. Asking for something is easy. Thinking about the specifications of a feature is a whole other process)

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:21 pm

I agree with you hoff, and my specific request have been outlined pretty well in earlier in the thread don't know if you caught'em but for the slicer or the feature use to be enabled while Live is running would be ideal and I know that how ever ableton would implement it it would be good.
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

Post Reply