can we edit clips in the clip view?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
spherop
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:07 pm

can we edit clips in the clip view?

Post by spherop » Sat Dec 16, 2006 4:59 pm

just making sure ...it seems that the only way to edit actual audio content is in the arrangement view not in clip/session view? i am talking about cutting, moving etc. if this is so - is there a logical reason why this is so ...or is maybe something that is still on the way feature-wise? it sure would be nice to do quick edits/mangling without having to drag to other view.

tribewalker
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:35 pm

Post by tribewalker » Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:01 pm

select a clip in session view..

then hit...

shift + tab

it will pull up the clip in the lower right as an editable file thing, so you can change loop points, add automation etc...
===============
Image
audio engines are going to differ very slightly betwen 200 dollar soft synths

spherop
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:07 pm

Post by spherop » Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:27 pm

tribewalker wrote:select a clip in session view..

then hit...

shift + tab

it will pull up the clip in the lower right as an editable file thing, so you can change loop points, add automation etc...
well yes - that i get - but i mean editing ...as in cutting/rearranging the audio itself.

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:54 pm

you can crop it based on the loop brace position, but that's about it I think, in the Clip view

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:36 pm

right click->manage sample file->edit to use an external editor which you need to set up in the prefs

spherop
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:07 pm

Post by spherop » Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:36 am

forge wrote:right click->manage sample file->edit to use an external editor which you need to set up in the prefs
ahh - that sounds promising... hmm i'll have to try that - wondering if will propagate edits seamlessly etc.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:26 am

spherop wrote:
forge wrote:right click->manage sample file->edit to use an external editor which you need to set up in the prefs
ahh - that sounds promising... hmm i'll have to try that - wondering if will propagate edits seamlessly etc.
if you open a file from live to edit in an external editor then when you save any changes in the external editor and switch back to live the file will update in live

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:56 am

you can't slice audio though.
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sun Dec 17, 2006 7:29 am

stale bread wrote:you can't slice audio though.
BUT YOU CAN SLICE STALE BREAD!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Post Reply