How long have u used Ableton Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

How long have u used Ableton Live?

Post by roach808 » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:14 am

Just curious on what version of live most ppl around here got started/hooked on.

I started using live back on version 1.5. After that, ive been a live junkie ever since.
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Tue Dec 19, 2006 1:17 am

in 2002 or so a bunch of us at a post production house gathered around the monitor of a colleague to download what i must assume was the first beta / demo version of Live ever..

it blew my mind, but i didn't have an immediate practical use for the software and abstained using it in full force until late 2003/early 2004 when a shift towards live performance became an imperative issue for my music.

Justin Thyme
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:40 pm
Contact:

Post by Justin Thyme » Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:36 am

I had the Lite version as of version 2. At that time, it was mostly just looping, so I got away from it completely. I recently started messing with versions 5 and 6, also Lite. It now has enough DAW recording functionality to make it a contender for my needs.

Of course, the downside is that I like Live for it's user friendliness for audio/midi recording in the arranger view. And as a "standard" DAW, it lacks quite a few features that I could get with Logic Express, and spend less money to boot!

So I think I'll be sticking with the Lite 6 for awhile, and then look for a used version of Live 5.

DeadlyKungFu
Posts: 3603
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:26 pm

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:24 am

Ver 3.

About a month after I bought Sonar 5 Studio and was getting into it, I bought an extra copy from a coworker who mis-ordered a copy. I never launched Sonar or Acid or used my SP808 sampler again.

joesapo
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:22 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Post by joesapo » Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:37 am

28 days, 6 hours, 42 minutes, and 12 seconds... :twisted:

simpleton
Posts: 913
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: Location: Location:

Post by simpleton » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:05 am

I had a demo version of 2 about 3 yrs. ago but I never used it 'cause I was told it was just for DJs, and well... nevermind. Then I bought an X-session and gave 2 Lite a try. I've been hooked ever since.
Image
The Leveller wrote:Wow, a weird shaped dead coral with sh!t stuck to it. Proof indeed of supernatural abilities.

astroid
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:04 am

Post by astroid » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:07 am

v6, less than a month. :D
P4 3.4G 2MB, RME 9652, nord g2, g4+digi 001, axiom 49, peavey 1600X, evolver, gigastudio

http://myspace.com/astroidpowerup

jamester
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by jamester » Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:56 am

Still a n00b, started at the end of Live 5 and did the upgrade deal to 6. So a few months now I suppose, which is more than it feels like! :-0
Purrrfect Audio PC by Jim Roseberry
Edirol UA-1000, Korg PadKontrol, Dynaudio BM 5A's
REAPER, Live, Sound Forge

roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

Post by roach808 » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:00 am

DeadlyKungFu wrote:Ver 3.I never launched Sonar or Acid or used my SP808 sampler again.
holy crap i never thought i would ever meet anybody who actually used that thing (sp808) besides me. Wow, memories.....the first release i ever did was with that thing , a yamaha RM1x, some crappy casio keyboard, and a juno 106. those were some good times. had to use the 808 to trak since i didnt have a dat recorder.....wow how did i ever live without a computer.
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:38 am

v2 in 2k2
dual 1.8 G4 10.4.9 w/768 ram & A&H xone 3D


"I ain't often right but I've never been wrong"

bitmap
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 7:31 pm
Location: portland. OR
Contact:

Post by bitmap » Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:46 am

since 1.5
http://dustbreeding.com
http://www.unrecnow.com
___________________________
macbook|monome 128/64|kmxmini

DJ VAKIS
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:26 am
Location: MUNICH-GERMANY
Contact:

Post by DJ VAKIS » Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:24 am

since v2.0
http://www.myspace.com/djvakis
http://mix2r.fm/audio/user/221


----------------------------------------
MacBookPro 13" Core 2 Duo 2.26Ghz 2GB
Live 8 -Operator -Sampler
AKAI LPD8-GENELEC 1029A-iPhone runing TouchOSC.

zeropoint
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:06 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by zeropoint » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:01 am

since version 1.0.
MacBook Pro 17" 2.93Ghz 8G Ram, Live 9.6, OSX 10.11.3,Faderfoxes, Monome........

jamief
Posts: 1856
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 1:50 pm
Location: Awakend

Post by jamief » Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:29 am

V1 :D

rentanutta
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Left hand corner of the Batcave, Just by the Batumbrella
Contact:

Post by rentanutta » Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:35 am

Got live lite 4, and realised that i was so easy to get my initial thoughts down, so switched from using reason, still havent upgraded to six yet as i feel i havent unlocked the full potential in 5, so wont until i am happy with that.
Dell Dimension 9100 Desktop, Win XP SP2 Home, Soundblaster Audigy 7.1 Soundcard,2GB Ram , 400 GB Hard Drive, Live 5, M-Audio O2 Midi Keyboard

Also run Reason 3 with no issues.

Post Reply