come on lets see it, gearporn (studio) pics......

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Contra
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Miami,FL. USA
Contact:

Post by Contra » Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:36 am

dbolt u should get some snake wraps for those cables or velcro straps, save u sum confusion, i kno that shit gets stressing back there at times.

8)

dbolt
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:47 am
Location: Macon, GA USA
Contact:

Post by dbolt » Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:51 pm

dbolt u should get some snake wraps for those cables or velcro straps, save u sum confusion, i kno that shit gets stressing back there at times.
I know its really confusing and I sometimes pull and stretch my cables when I try to clean things up sometimes which can't be to good. I've been changing my setup so much that I haven't setup a concrete way yet. I need a mixing board but I like having everything going into my Tascam FW1804 which gets put into seperate channels in Ableton to record and tweak later. And untill they start making more than 8 channel firewire devices I'm stuck

Later

Rogue Scrunt
Posts: 1272
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:32 am
Location: Colorado Springs, USA

Post by Rogue Scrunt » Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:21 pm

it seems to me, about %50 firewire devices are 16 or more inputs
for lots of great records, check out,
http://stores.ebay.com/id=64360994?ssPageName=ME:F:ST

lerky
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 1:50 pm

Post by lerky » Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:20 am

ImageImage

dbolt
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:47 am
Location: Macon, GA USA
Contact:

Post by dbolt » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:25 am

it seems to me, about %50 firewire devices are 16 or more inputs
I should've said I could be wrong but most of the devices I've seen have been 8 channels. CAn you quickly name a few that you recommend I'm going to be in the market soon. I guess this is something I'm interested in MultiMix 16 FW
• Compact, affordable 16-channel analog mixer and Multi-channel FireWire Audio Computer
• 8 high-gain mic/line (XLR and 1/4" balanced) inputs with phantom power, 2 stereo balanced 1/4" line inputs, aux send (can sent to onboard or external effects), stereo aux return


So I guess it has 8 mic/ine inputs and then the 2 stereo inputs where are the others? YEs I could be blind and I'm not seeing it, so don't be to hard on me.

So it can basically have 16 mono channels? That's what Im looking! I'm not counting any ADAT channels nor digital channels.

dbolt
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:47 am
Location: Macon, GA USA
Contact:

Post by dbolt » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:38 am

So I guess it has 8 mic/ine inputs and then the 2 stereo inputs where are the others?
I read more yes it has 8 mono and 4 stereo channels thats great.

Any pros and cons from anyone about this product the Alesis MultiMix 16 FW

SOme reviews so far say it has alot of good qualities.

FrankH
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 9:38 pm
Location: Zeist, The Netherlands

Post by FrankH » Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:28 am

lerky wrote:...
Nice setup, interesting mix of equipment.
Live 6.0.3 Win XP sp2, P4 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, UXGA video, RME Multiface (1), Nord Lead 3, Korg X5D, TR-Rack, ER-1, Roland Juno 106, JV-2080, Elektron Machinedrum-UW, SidStation, SPL Charisma, Soundtracs CP6800 (40/12/24), Genelec 1030A, Furutech TP80, etc.

telescope
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:27 pm

Post by telescope » Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:20 am

Image


Hey Beale,

What do you think of the perfourmer ? I've been thinking of getting one for ages but wanted to find someone who has one first !

From the specs it looks as if it'd be good at CS-60 polyphonic kinda stuff where each note of a chord can be out a little bit...but fatter than a CS.

Sales Dude McBoob
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC during the day - Hoboken, NJ at bedtime
Contact:

Post by Sales Dude McBoob » Sun Dec 24, 2006 3:06 pm

divonic wrote:
beale wrote:I've been trading up gear since the 80's so I've amassed a crapload of stuff. I recently went back to hardware synths as I was getting bogged down with menus on my softsysnths.


Image

Nice stuff. My question is a real simple one. in the above pic where did you get the patch cord organizer / rack that you have mounted to the wall? All the ones I've seen are 2U and were for ethernet cables. and they cost like $60 fo the thing.
Here ya go:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... ype=search

We're out but we'll get more soon, or you can order it and you'll have it in 10 days or so.

I never used to do this kind of thing, but what the hell. It'll be crass commercialism from here on in :wink:

Sales Dude McBoob
Posts: 2838
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC during the day - Hoboken, NJ at bedtime
Contact:

Post by Sales Dude McBoob » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:08 pm

dbolt wrote:
So I guess it has 8 mic/ine inputs and then the 2 stereo inputs where are the others?
I read more yes it has 8 mono and 4 stereo channels thats great.

Any pros and cons from anyone about this product the Alesis MultiMix 16 FW

SOme reviews so far say it has alot of good qualities.
That Alesis is lacking digital I/O and midi. I don't know if you're replacing the Tascam or if you are buying this in addition to your Tascam. The FW1804 has ADAT in and out, so you could buy a lightpipe expander and you'd have 8 more channels of XLR preamped mic/line inputs.

Here:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... ype=search
(it's 499.95 with free shipping)

Or a nicer one:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... Navigation
(it's $719.95 with free shipping)

And soon:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... Navigation

The question is if you are going to need the things on the MultiMix that you're paying for. Are you going to need that onboard FX processor? Do you need EQ on every channel? I think this is a decent product if someone wants an inexpensive mixing board that can double as a computer interface for audio. But it lacks digital connectivity. But it's always nice having the visual presence of a mixing board in the studio...

I like your set-up. You could make some crazy noise in there!

telescope
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:27 pm

Post by telescope » Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:32 pm

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

Post by roach808 » Sun Dec 24, 2006 6:43 pm

I really need to invest in a modular rig @ some point.... :?
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

Contra
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Miami,FL. USA
Contact:

Post by Contra » Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:18 pm

roach808 wrote:I really need to invest in a modular rig @ some point.... :?
or SSL Plugins ;)

roach808
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Tampa Bay, Fl
Contact:

Post by roach808 » Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:44 am

Contra wrote:
roach808 wrote:I really need to invest in a modular rig @ some point.... :?
or SSL Plugins ;)
well i already budgeted for it this next year.
roach- the other white meat
Image
http://www.themenacetosobriety.com/blog/
MBP, Live Suite, and lots of nice analogue gear.

head034
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:05 pm

Post by head034 » Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:08 pm

sweetjesus wrote:Image

about 9 months ago... much more in there now
What brand/Kind of Keyboard stand is this?

Post Reply