Damn! New Traktor Controller from Vestax

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
John Sweet
Posts: 686
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:28 pm
Location: NYC

Damn! New Traktor Controller from Vestax

Post by John Sweet » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:16 pm

Finally they're looking like they're supposed to!

I could see connecting this when you want to rewire Torq in Live & rock it CDJ style:


http://www.vestax.com/v/products/players/vci100.html


Image

Spiralgroove
Posts: 1020
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 1:37 pm
Contact:

Post by Spiralgroove » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:30 pm

how wonderful for traktor users

:?

musick
Posts: 539
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:30 pm
Location: This part of the Galaxy

Post by musick » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:32 pm

BCD2000?
MacPro, Synthesizers.com modular, Logic Studio, RME FireFace 400, Waves, Live 8/Ableton Suite/Drum Machines/M4L, MaxMSP, MoogerFoogers

muscleandhate
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:54 pm

Post by muscleandhate » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:32 pm

Am I right in thinking you can pretty much mix on that thing as though you would on a pair of CDJ's and a mixer?

drush
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2003 4:40 am
Location: Venice, CA
Contact:

Post by drush » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:39 pm

theoretically.

ChiDJ
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: CHick-A-Go!
Contact:

Post by ChiDJ » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:34 pm

It's got all the "elements". As a Traktor user who also uses Final scratch, this would be a nice portable solution, however:

1) How is the sound quality?

2) Latency?

3) Those screw heads on the decks makes the whole thing look cheap :(
"Let you're body feel the sound! Let it cover you up and down!"

Image

ChiDJ
Posts: 2241
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: CHick-A-Go!
Contact:

Post by ChiDJ » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:53 pm

Now I see...This is strictly a USB MIDI controller, so one would have to have a sound card or FW interface for audio to go into the mixer.
"Let you're body feel the sound! Let it cover you up and down!"

Image

darclex
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 5:08 am
Location: berkeley
Contact:

vestax build quality

Post by darclex » Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:42 am

aside from PMC, vestax build quality has always been an issue with us, anyone else same?

if rane were to make one of these, we'd be in there like swimwear.

finally someone set a precedent...now we're just waiting for everyone else to follow

OR

we could always make our own, my precious @ www.ucapps.de OR www.midibox.org

*gollum gollum*
:twisted:

jdoty
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:21 pm

Post by jdoty » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:03 pm

thats what im saying Rane needs to hurry up. Anyone have an idea how much this thing is going to cost?
TonySoprano wrote:Digweed's hair is becoming a problem in this respect, though. There were a few raised eyebrows when he changed to the Shaggy Dog look

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Post by kabuki » Thu Dec 21, 2006 4:23 pm

From the looks of things, one could remove the faceplates, repaint and relabel them for use with Live, and one would only really need a Triggerfinger to fire off clips. pretty much.

I really wish this had the encoders for 4 channels and got rid of the transport/cue buttons, but I guess I couls always just assign the "Pitch" and cue controlls to the other two channels I use.

Looks nice, IMO.
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

M. Bréqs
Posts: 1479
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 6:02 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by M. Bréqs » Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:05 pm

jdoty wrote:thats what im saying Rane needs to hurry up.

ummm, you mean something like this? With complete Serato integration?

Image
http://www.rane.com/ttm57sl.html

JohnDP
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:17 am

Post by JohnDP » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:46 pm

this is great, does anybody have the ETA?

thelike5
Posts: 2047
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:12 pm

Post by thelike5 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:47 pm

Pretty much exactly what I would want a Traktor controller to look like...

The only question, how much money?

dCross
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 9:01 pm
Location: Ableton NY
Contact:

Post by dCross » Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:28 pm

thelike5 wrote:The only question, how much money?
I'm sure it'll be on the pricey side, but it's very nice to see some professional-grade DJ-oriented MIDI controllers hitting the market.
David Cross
Public Media Coordinator
Ableton Inc. (NYC)

cross@ableton.com

jdoty
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 7:21 pm

Post by jdoty » Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:45 pm

M. Bréqs wrote:
jdoty wrote:thats what im saying Rane needs to hurry up.

ummm, you mean something like this? With complete Serato integration?

Image
http://www.rane.com/ttm57sl.html
can you assign faders and nobs on the rane for midi?????
TonySoprano wrote:Digweed's hair is becoming a problem in this respect, though. There were a few raised eyebrows when he changed to the Shaggy Dog look

Post Reply