HELP! My Machinedrum is busted

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
smartabletonuser
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: jerusalem, israel

HELP! My Machinedrum is busted

Post by smartabletonuser » Tue Dec 26, 2006 1:53 pm

I already tried the elektron forums/user groups so I thought I'd try here as well.

MY MD SPS-1 is not rebooting after an OS upgrade to 1.33. It keeps freezing on "updating flash". it makes it all the way through the entire os upload and then craps out. UGH!

I tried elektrons C6 and then a regular MIDI dump all with the same results. I have also tried multiple interfaces. Nothing seems to work. :cry: :cry: :cry:

frisbeedisk
Posts: 585
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Glasgow

Post by frisbeedisk » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:19 pm

have you went thru the diagnostics test or downgrade to 1.32??

i must add that my UW is acting a little strange these days

smartabletonuser
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: jerusalem, israel

Post by smartabletonuser » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:50 pm

I tried 1.2beta!!!

and still... nothing..... I'm gonna go cry now. I have gigs all next week and now it looks like I have to cancel them - or maybe buy a new one .... ugh....

It seems like it's not formatting the flash or somethng. man, i'mso bummed

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:52 pm

What midi interface are you using? Before I got my TM-1, I had to try multiple times on occasion to get a OS update to work.

smartabletonuser
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: jerusalem, israel

Post by smartabletonuser » Tue Dec 26, 2006 3:07 pm

I tried my presonus firepod and then I tried a midisport 2x2

I also have an x-session and and edirol midi interface here, but i haven't tried them. Thing is my MM updated fine.

Tarekith - what midi interace did you use?

frisbeedisk
Posts: 585
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Glasgow

Post by frisbeedisk » Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:21 pm

have you look at your midi cables, try different ones - you never know!!

thelike5
Posts: 2047
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 10:12 pm

Post by thelike5 » Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:30 pm

Have you tried contacting Elektron? They may have heard of similar users having this problem and could possibly steer you in the right direction...

Hope you get it figured out

smartabletonuser
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:58 pm
Location: jerusalem, israel

Post by smartabletonuser » Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:58 pm

frisbeedisk wrote:have you look at your midi cables, try different ones - you never know!!
YES! I tried a much shorter MIDI cable and it worked! Hallelujah! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:50 pm

Sweet. I use an elektron TM-1 BTW.

frisbeedisk
Posts: 585
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Glasgow

Post by frisbeedisk » Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:54 pm

Nice one - no need for panic now..phew!!!! :D :D

Cryptic UK
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:51 pm

Post by Cryptic UK » Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:19 am

smartabletonuser wrote:YES! I tried a much shorter MIDI cable and it worked! Hallelujah! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Praise the lord!
Drums

stjohn
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:20 am

Post by stjohn » Wed Dec 27, 2006 11:34 am

glad to hear it mate... good luck with the upcoming gigs.
im very new to the machinedrum world, still trying to make my way through the manual.


did it take you long to get going with yours?

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Wed Dec 27, 2006 12:30 pm


Cryptic UK
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:51 pm

Post by Cryptic UK » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:24 pm

Praise lord Tarekith!

Image
Drums

stjohn
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:20 am

Post by stjohn » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:50 pm

cheers Tarekith...

how does one log onto the user forum? do i have a code somewhere?

Post Reply