live 5 to live 6 on mbp

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

live 5 to live 6 on mbp

Post by suspended childhood » Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:57 pm

do i have to install the full version of live 6 on the mbp or can I upgrade my live 5 to 6.

getting mbp next week and want to be ready.
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

FrankH
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 9:38 pm
Location: Zeist, The Netherlands

Post by FrankH » Mon Jan 01, 2007 10:00 pm

Your question is not totaly clear, you want to install the software and then rebuild your computer to install Live 6 again???
Live 6.0.3 Win XP sp2, P4 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, UXGA video, RME Multiface (1), Nord Lead 3, Korg X5D, TR-Rack, ER-1, Roland Juno 106, JV-2080, Elektron Machinedrum-UW, SidStation, SPL Charisma, Soundtracs CP6800 (40/12/24), Genelec 1030A, Furutech TP80, etc.

suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

Post by suspended childhood » Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:55 am

i bought live 5 last year.

im buying a mbp later this week.

can i install live 5 on the mbp, then UPGRADE to live 6

-or-

do i have to install the FULL VERSION of live 6 on the mbp?
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Tue Jan 02, 2007 10:32 am

Hello,

Each upgrade or update is a full version, so there is no need to install version 5 before, if you don't need to use it.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

Post by suspended childhood » Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:58 pm

Thanks Amaury.

What is on the disc that is not included in the download?
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:11 pm

If you purchase the box version, you get the EIC, a collection of multi-layered sample programs that ae loaded with Simpler. If you purchase the download version, you can later on get the EIC:

http://www.ableton.com/pages/shop/instruments

http://www.ableton.com/pages/live_6/wha ... collection

Kind regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

Post by suspended childhood » Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:43 pm

thanks. ill look into that.
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

Post Reply