Handsfree looping for Live 4

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Gabe
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 11:48 am

Handsfree looping for Live 4

Post by Gabe » Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:03 am

Broken off of this thread:
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=55262

I'm going to see what I can manage with Live 4

my tools are:
Mac OS 10.3.9
Live 4
Max/MSP
MidiStroke
button controller

d=down
u=up

to use a single button to control looping on one channel

d •holding the button arms recording to start at the next bar (or whatever quantization level)

u •releasing the button ends recording @ the end of the bar, and playback begins at next bar

udu ••while recording, releasing the button and tapping it again aborts recording the current clip
udud •• the above followed by holding the button begins recording at the next bar

dudu ••tapping the button twice while loop is playing stops playback
du •••after stopping as above, a tap begins playback at the next bar
d ••after stopping as above, holding the button begins recording on the next bar

here it goes...

Contra
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Miami,FL. USA
Contact:

Re: Handsfree looping for Live 4

Post by Contra » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:34 pm

Gabe wrote:Broken off of this thread:
[url]
dudu ••tapping the button twice while loop is playing stops playback
hahah sorry.
:lol:

Gabe
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 11:48 am

Post by Gabe » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:18 pm

wow, you are tiny!

Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:26 pm

Gabe wrote:wow, you are tiny!
Tiny but funny! No such fun as poop...

-M

j0shu@
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:27 pm
Location: tn
Contact:

Post by j0shu@ » Wed Jan 03, 2007 5:19 am

in this thread i share some of my live looping wisdom / confusion:

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=51147

Gabe
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 11:48 am

Post by Gabe » Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:32 am

You can check out what I threw together here: http://thegreenuniverse.com/gm/autolooper.zip

I've been playing with it for a couple days and it works pretty well.

What it allows you to do is hold down a midi button for the period of time you wish to record, and release it to begin playback. Repeating the process overwrites the last loop recorded.

A Max/MSP patch generates the midi messages sent to to Live that trigger the recording, starting and stopping of the clips. Midi sent to MidiStroke generates the keystrokes that move highlight and delete old clips.

This currently handles only a single looping channel.

Gabe

Post Reply