Where is live 6 library supposed to be stored ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Where is live 6 library supposed to be stored ?

Post by alan* » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:22 am

When I first installed it I chose a seperate location to the default because it said it would affect live 5 sets or something ? But now that i have and satisfied its running smooth should i move the library to another location or does it not really matter ?
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

Tone Deft
Posts: 23778
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:24 am

Truly, read the manual on this, Live 6 has a more strict library management system, best not to mess with it too much. It's just 4 pages or so, but very much worth your time.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:25 am

ok thank you, i will
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

Tone Deft
Posts: 23778
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:33 am

oh, and all the file locations are set in the options->preferences->file/folder menu so you can look up what's where.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:35 am

yeah i got that thanks, I figure i will just change it to my live 5 library folder and then it will format change everything to work with live 6... am making a backup of my live 5 folder just in case theres any probs
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

Post Reply