which Soft Synth ?!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

which Soft Synth ?!

Post by julienb » Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:27 am

Hello

those who already read me here may believe i'm crazy.
I'm. but I'm just looking for my best config, my virtual studio.


I'm making my Live configuration step by step.
1/I decided to use live as sequencer and 1 rack for the drums.
2/I want to use synthesis for all other sounds. not sampling or audio loop.
I'm hesitating with a lot of things (vst or not, rewire or not etc)
I'm looking for synth powerful as FM8 (Native Inst) or something like that... a lot of parameters which permit to find sound of bass, pad, soundscapes, percussions in one box (NI VSTi are SO powerful, but not enough stable)
I would like to use OSC,LFO,Filter,RingModulator etc

I have some criterias (all aren't a must, but ...):
- STABLE !
- big soundbanks (synthethis... not samples) => in order to test basics sounds to find mine by altering them
- VST if possible (because I only have one controller BCR2000, and control them by assigning in live would be great (only thing I can do)
- CC for automatize preset/patch change

Reason could be great but:
- no way for assigning both live + reason
- no preset change automatize


does anyone could advise me about some synth soft?
I heard about vanguard, zebra2, Virus etc
any experiences?
I know that it exists a lot of them... but does anyone give me a way to test one I didn't know?


Many thanks to read me and bye bye!
Last edited by julienb on Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

D DAS
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 7:37 am

Post by D DAS » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:18 am

no NI huh?

well, I am trying the metasynth demo now and i love it,also the Korg Legacy collection is sweet sounding

but other than that i use NI.

good luck

try out lots of demos before you buy, most soft makers offer free demos

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Post by SubFunk » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:23 am

the AAS stuff is amongst my faves, lounge lizard, string studio, ultra analog and of course tassman. i recommend checking their demos out.
*** Image GAFM ***

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Post by julienb » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:29 am

thanks a lot for these answers!
I'll try the demo

D DAS,
I used Absynth, FM8, MAssive, Battery.
GREAT! POWERFUL !
but none of them is stable as VST plugin ( you can read thathere )
I like them so much.
I'd dream to use them in live performance too !!
they can automatize program change (with a program list mode very useful)
etc
but
database rebuild etc
empty database sometimes etc
I don't really know
The magic & genius ewistrand will understand all that cases... I'm sure!

Pasha
Posts: 3244
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:34 am

Hi,

I recently had the occasion to ear puremagnetik's Juice for Operator and I have to say that I have rediscovered that synth.
I could not believe my ears. Warm sounds coming from Operator? No way!
I was wrong.
Now that I have a better understanding of Operator+Live Effects I'm happy with that. Racks extend operator capabilities even more. Even if Operator is a 4 Operators 10 Structures Synth, imagine the almost endless capabilities by mixing one or more Operators into racks.... I was putting Operator aside and now I already made 4 songs with it, with original sounds.

- My 2 cent
- Best
- Pasha
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Post by julienb » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:43 am

HEllo Pasha
I understand what you mean.
perhaps, my path would drive me there: at the beginning ; by using operator.
of course, it would be the most easy thing!
- all control would be possible (using rack with macro control already assignated to the same knob of my controller... for playing live)
- not really CPU consumer
- stability max!


but ...
I have to say that I don't really want to spend 1h to find my sound.
I know FM synthesis. filter etc
but I need to begin with a sound already build to change, alter, add or substract things you know...
NI VSTi sounds SO great for that, Reason too...


SubFunk,
AAS seem to be great.
I have some questions about that.
- can we change program/preset via program change?
- can we change easily program for a live performance for example?
- is there a "database" structure as in NI VSTi ?


See U!

laurence
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by laurence » Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:19 am

z3ta+ and z3ta+_fx anyday
I have no pets but enjoy drawing pictures of insects and sending them to people

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Post by SubFunk » Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:28 am

julienb wrote:HEllo Pasha
I understand what you mean.
perhaps, my path would drive me there: at the beginning ; by using operator.
of course, it would be the most easy thing!
- all control would be possible (using rack with macro control already assignated to the same knob of my controller... for playing live)
- not really CPU consumer
- stability max!


but ...
I have to say that I don't really want to spend 1h to find my sound.
I know FM synthesis. filter etc
but I need to begin with a sound already build to change, alter, add or substract things you know...
NI VSTi sounds SO great for that, Reason too...

SubFunk,
AAS seem to be great.
I have some questions about that.
- can we change program/preset via program change?
- can we change easily program for a live performance for example?
- is there a "database" structure as in NI VSTi ?

See U!
the first point i don't know, because i never use any form of program changes [automated or via midi] in any case.

the other two: yes.

just try the demos, really.
*** Image GAFM ***

SonnyBonnier
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 9:23 am
Location: Lalaland

Post by SonnyBonnier » Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:58 am

ImpOSCar is great for everything except soundscapes.

Ron Bender
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:52 pm
Location: Vlissingen, The Netherlands

Post by Ron Bender » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:31 pm

The u-he Zebra2 is one of my favorites, I also prefer Reaktor5 for great sounds
Try out the demos and you'll see :lol:

Josh Von
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 2:38 pm

Post by Josh Von » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:50 pm

laurence wrote:z3ta+ and z3ta+_fx anyday
+1

.

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Post by julienb » Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:28 pm

Ok
Many thanks!

I make my test list:
- Zebra2
- z3ta+
- ImpOSCar
- AAS stuff (Ultra Analog, Tassman... anyone use tassman in live performance context?)


I'll test all of that in demo
I just hope stability, power, and easiness for changing preset in live context!


if anyone have other ideas, I'm interested!

Pasha
Posts: 3244
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:46 pm

julienb wrote:Ok
Many thanks!

I make my test list:
- Zebra2
- z3ta+
- ImpOSCar
- AAS stuff (Ultra Analog, Tassman... anyone use tassman in live performance context?)


I'll test all of that in demo
I just hope stability, power, and easiness for changing preset in live context!


if anyone have other ideas, I'm interested!
You can change presets in operator when in arrangement also using the hot swap feature. Of course this will clutter a little bit your track because changing a preset with Operator means that all possible parameter will change, it's not like a Program Change, it's more like a parameter massive change that is written as automation. I think this could also produce some gaps in sound (like Program Changes do sometimes).
Just for completeness of information.

- Best
- Pasha
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

serotoninsteve
Posts: 1094
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:27 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Post by serotoninsteve » Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:58 pm

Also check surge:

http://vemberaudio.se/surge.php

My choice would be surge or zebra2,
2 of the versatilest beasts I know.[/url]
MBP 15,4" 2,53GHz C2D 4Gb late 2008 / Mac OS X.6.2 / Novation Remote 37SL Compact / TriggerFinger / FaderfoxDJ2 / Padkontrol / UC33 / SM Audio TB202 / Audiofire2 / Apogee Duet / Event OPAL's / HD25 /

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Post by julienb » Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:22 pm

Thanks for your so precious experiences!

Pasha,
You can change presets in operator when in arrangement also using the hot swap feature. Of course this will clutter a little bit your track because changing a preset with Operator means that all possible parameter will change, it's not like a Program Change, it's more like a parameter massive change that is written as automation. I think this could also produce some gaps in sound (like Program Changes do sometimes).
Just for completeness of information.
In that case, this is not a problem for me if I used operator.
Indeed, I have two groups of tracks (when I would finish this f..g configuration, I'll post all!)
These tracks are:
1 drums
7 synth + sampler
what I'm looking for now is synth.

I use crossfader for making transition between tracks (indeed, I have time to change by dragging/droppin, I have no problem about gaps etc etc...)
But operator isn't very inspirative (for me...)

:-)

I'll check Surge, serotoninsteve!
thanks!


(I just tested Ultra Analog demo ........... WOWOWOWOWO!
the management of brwser, and almost THE SOUND!
sounds great for me

Post Reply