BCR 2000 rotary encoders speed adjustment.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
sonsofthehounds
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:35 pm
Location: alba

BCR 2000 rotary encoders speed adjustment.

Post by sonsofthehounds » Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:21 pm

This is info for all that are looking for snappier response from thier BCR 2000 rotary pots for those quick automation moments. I found them a little slow on the pick up so have resolved the issue.

I give full credit to whoever originally posted this on the forum, I just figured I should re-post as I had to go through pages and pages of the forum to finally find it.

It is a bit tech but not really too involved and well worth the effort for the response you get from the encoders once you make those adjustments,

hope this helps whoever needs it and thanks again to the original poster, amazing nugget of info.

all the best.

Step 1.
Use Midi-Ox or equivalent to capture a sysex bulk dump of the preset on your BCR2000 you want to modify. (To send it, hold down edit and press preset -> on the BCR)

Step 2.
Save this sysex bulk dump (probably in the region of 15000 bytes).

Step 3.
Open it up with a Hexidecimal editor like XVI32 (which is freeware).

Step 4.
Look down the ASCII text side of the screen within the sysex data for the encoder name you want to modify. E.g. if you want to do this to encoder 35, then hunt for 'encoder 35' within the text. There is a 'find' tool within XVI32 thankfully!

Step 5.
Find 'resolution 96 96 96 96' within the parameters relating to your encoder number - i.e. towards the end of the other details relating to that encoder. Modify this to read 96 192 384 768 (you'll have to insert characters in order for this to fit) instead of 96 96 96 96 Now do this for the other encoders you want to accelerate.

(Note: Apparently combinations using 1536 and 3072 can be used too but that's probably only useful with 14 bit controllers)

Step 6.
Save this back as a .syx file.

Step 7.
Transmit this file to the BCR2000 using Midi Ox etc. and store this on the BCR.

Step 8.
The encoders you did this to will now accelerate if you move them quickly but work normally (although a little faster maybe) if you move them slowly!
macbook 2.16 ghz, live 6...studio with gear now gathering dust.

vip32
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 9:12 am

Post by vip32 » Mon Jan 22, 2007 8:24 pm

greatm, but what do you mean with :
"Apparently combinations using 1536 and 3072 can be used", how do i enter these values and what do they mean?

does '96 192 384 768' denotes something of the rotation speed, is this the only possible value?

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Post by julienb » Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:42 pm

wow !
I'll test that !

sonsofthehounds
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:35 pm
Location: alba

Post by sonsofthehounds » Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:32 am

i'm afraid i cannot divulge any more on the process or the numbers and what they mean.

96 96 96 96 is the resolution setting in the code and not the resultant only achievable settings...just code for the box to understand.

"Apparently combinations using 1536 and 3072 can be used", how do i enter these values and what do they mean?

Don't enter these, I do not know what they mean either....

setting it to the new values results in a snappier response from the dials, that's the result, it got no more scientific than that for me, it was a fairly uncomplicated procedure that got me a great useful result.

so to re-cap.....follow the instructions I followed if you want the desired result

best a luck.
macbook 2.16 ghz, live 6...studio with gear now gathering dust.

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:47 am

you're not the guy who draws schematics and does R&D for behringer r u?

fuck i coulda used this when i had a BEE CEE ARE

sonsofthehounds
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 9:35 pm
Location: alba

Post by sonsofthehounds » Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:16 am

hell no, just on a budget.
macbook 2.16 ghz, live 6...studio with gear now gathering dust.

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Sun Mar 30, 2008 9:08 pm

i dont understand this hex editor...wish i could though

robinschroder
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:39 am
Location: London, UK

Post by robinschroder » Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:50 am

The higher numbers accelerate the encoders even faster which is useful for 14-bit controllers (since in 14-bit mode there are many more values possible than 128, so the encoders are even slower than normal).

Edit: Also the reason for the increase in values i.e. 96 192 384 768 is that if you turn the encoders really slowly, you still get the factory response (i.e. very slow) = 96 for fine detail adjustment, but if you turn them fast, you get the highest speed = 768. If you turn them some way in between those speeds, you get 192 or 384 speeds. So, if you were to put in 768 768 768 768 you'd get a crazy fast response regardless of the speed you turn the encoders - which would be unworkable.

Glad you all found my instructions useful, anyway!
Robin

Meef Chaloin
Posts: 2164
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm

Post by Meef Chaloin » Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:26 pm

how do you know what number the encoders are? If i want to do all of them do I just edit all the encoder entries?

(sorry for the probably stupid question)

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:30 pm

Meef Chaloin wrote:how do you know what number the encoders are? If i want to do all of them do I just edit all the encoder entries?

(sorry for the probably stupid question)
IIRC, (it's a long time since I tried this) you can just do a search+replace for "96 96 96 96" and replace with "96 96 yourvalue yourothervalue".

And yes, 1535 and 3072 worked when doing 14bit - but hell, why AREN'T you all using 14bit, when you have knob acceleration in there.

The cool bit is that you can do both really fine movements and deep cuts into the sound. I noticed some of the newer controllers having encoder accel, like the Axiom, but on "old" and "cheap" kit like the bcr it's a real boon to have this.

Angstrom
Posts: 14674
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Angstrom » Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:35 pm

I used the BCR editor by RPC Fender (Royce)
it's available in the files section of the Yahoo group called bc2000

The Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: BCR 2000 rotary encoders speed adjustment.

Post by The Engineer » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:21 pm

Hmmm.. After reading the first page of this post, I did a little math to figure out the numbers somewhat.

So, if the controller's system "dump" file yields these numbers normally:

96 96 96 96

That leads me to believe that this is the "constant" speed throughout.

Modifying this to:

96 192 384 768

When you do the math is x1, x2, x4, and x8 for speed.

Like this:

96 x 1 = 96
96 x 2 = 192
96 x 4 = 384
96 x 8 = 768

If someone has already posted this, then please disregard. If not, I hope this helps. Once I find a Mac OS X app that'll let me do the mod, I'll report back on my findings.

Sincerely,
Brian K. James
DJ/Producer Name: "The Engineer"
Soundcloud: the.engineer
Music. Is. Life.

justchris86
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: BCR 2000 rotary encoders speed adjustment.

Post by justchris86 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:50 pm

Crazy! i am going to try this out.
If i do it wrong can i potentially screw up my BCR?
"Do not quote or read this text"

https://soundcloud.com/modernmaestros

Post Reply