OSX .4 - Ridding of Dashboard/ Spotlight

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
D DAS
Posts: 890
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 7:37 am

OSX .4 - Ridding of Dashboard/ Spotlight

Post by D DAS » Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:24 am

I know this has been discussed but recently and I could not find it on a search.

I finally upgraded to OSX.4 I recall reading that dashboard and spotlight suck up needed CPU. What is the best way to stop this? should I just delete them from applications?

input please

thanks

d~

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:37 am

http://d-t-f.sourceforge.net/

^^ Use this utility. It's not universal, but it still works on intel macs. Goodbye, stupid spotlight!

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Post by rbmonosylabik » Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:38 am

Don't disable spotlight.

To disable dashboard:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... Bdashboard

to be honest, there's no tweaks in osx that save much cpu. I disabled dashboard because I really have no need for it.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Pitch Black
Posts: 6450
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:48 am

Another vote for leaving Spotlight intact. I killed it with some 3rd party app on my old powerbook (sorry forget which) and it killed the ability to search in my email an' all. Couldn't get Spotlight to turn back on either... :cry: On a MBP now and I'm leaving it as it is.

My2c.

P.S. I have Dashboard left on too - I use these handy music calculator widgets all the time: http://www.henrybourne.co.uk/widgetSite/

cheers!
MBP i5 2.53GHz | OSX 10.12.6 | Live10.0.4 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

dango
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:38 pm

Post by dango » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:00 am

cool little widgets pitchblack, thanks for posting em.

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:01 am

There is absolutely no harm in disabling spotlight, if you do it the right way. If you use the DTF app at the above link that I posted, you can easily re-enable spotlight should you decide you need it again. No problems, no worries. DTF also gives you the option to nuke the spotlight database, which will have to be rebuilt (of course) if you decide to re-enable it.

I actually do use dashboard, and it generally only wastes memory when running. The CPU usage required by it when not in use is basically zero. However, I've been running spotlight free ever since 10.4 was released... but I'm kind of an old unix junkie, so it's easier for me to just use "find" instead. :) Spotlight is quite visible in terms of CPU power and disk space. Just look for the "mds" process in activity monitor... you'll see it go nuts whenever you attach an external drive, or occaisionally at random intervals.

noiselevel
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:06 pm

Post by noiselevel » Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:24 pm


Tarekith
Posts: 17576
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:50 pm

I don't know why people freak out about Dashboard, there's some cool widgets out there for musicians. I found a handy system monitoring one (temp, CPU, memory usage, etc), one that shows you different chords in a set scale, another than shows you notes in a scale on a mini keyboard. They take like what, 40MB of memory on my MBP.

Besides, dashboard doesn't take any memory if you don't launch it first, just jst drag the icon off your dock and ignore it, no?

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:51 pm

Tarekith wrote: Besides, dashboard doesn't take any memory if you don't launch it first, just jst drag the icon off your dock and ignore it, no?
No, it's launched as a background process, regardless of whether or not it's in the dock. However, it doesn't actually allocate any memory for widgets until the first time you launch it.

SubFunk
Posts: 7853
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: A Big Toilet Called Berlin
Contact:

Post by SubFunk » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:07 pm

rbmonosylabik wrote:Don't disable spotlight.

To disable dashboard:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php? ... Bdashboard

to be honest, there's no tweaks in osx that save much cpu. I disabled dashboard because I really have no need for it.
they do not take anything from your precious CPU power to worry about [it's 100% minor] unless you use them actively.
and spotlight is more then usefull.
*** Image GAFM ***

shaneblyth
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:02 am

Post by shaneblyth » Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:33 am

just leave dashboard empty if you like.. use that utility to disable and spotlight there turns spotlight on and off
Frankly spotlight is awesome if you prefer to use quicksilver instead.. fair enough but it uses no power.. OSX is extremly efficent with resources.. it gobbles up whats free but releases it as i is needed.
You dont mention why you want these things turned off. I am assuming you think you'll get more power available
MacbookPro Core2Duo 17" 160 gb SATA 2gb ram.
Korg M3
1 Terabyte External Drive
Presonus Firebox
Live 6,

aqua_tek
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 8:48 pm
Contact:

Post by aqua_tek » Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:08 am


noisetonepause
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Second row from the expensive puddle, under ten others

Post by noisetonepause » Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:14 pm

Just drag dashboard off the the dock and disable the keycommand in system preferences (dock pane, I think). Problem solved.

Don't disable spotlight.
Suit #1: I mean, have you got any insight as to why a bright boy like this would jeopardize the lives of millions?
Suit #2: No, sir, he says he does this sort of thing for fun.

Post Reply