Reworking a mix - Moving data around

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Guest

Reworking a mix - Moving data around

Post by Guest » Tue Dec 02, 2003 3:25 am

I'm getting soooo nervous about the way Live works with large data blocks ... and maybe I'm just overlooking something, so I'm posting my question here.

A lot of my stuff is built around loops, and on top of it I placed vocals. Right now I need to create a longer mix of a song I made.

Now, the loops snap perfectly in place with the grid, but as I'm having vocals that start a bit before each bit, I have problems rearranging without loosing the current position. For example. I select the bars 2-4 and the vocals starts at 1.5, the vocal gets cut off and I can only move the part 1.5-4 ... there is a small snippet that stays on position 1.5 ...

Also, I don't seem to catch all midi events that are recorded when I move around whole blocks of data. I carefully open the events in the mix screen so I can catch it, but some events I seem to miss ...

Anyway, can somebody enlighten me ?

-- F

Mbazzy
Posts: 1726
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 1:35 pm
Location: Gent-Belgium
Contact:

Post by Mbazzy » Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:23 am

Are you talking arranger view?
http://www.mbazzy.tk -
Mbazzy's "The dysfunctional playground, a scrapbook a bout the shape of useless things" now OUT on Retinascan - http://www.retinascan.de

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Dec 02, 2003 10:55 am

Yes. Not the scenes.

noisetonepause
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Second row from the expensive puddle, under ten others

Post by noisetonepause » Tue Dec 02, 2003 12:24 pm

zoom in to higher grid resolution; that way you can still use snap ;)
Suit #1: I mean, have you got any insight as to why a bright boy like this would jeopardize the lives of millions?
Suit #2: No, sir, he says he does this sort of thing for fun.

Post Reply