How do i reload windows without losing my program's and data

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
biffcheeze
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:32 pm

How do i reload windows without losing my program's and data

Post by biffcheeze » Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:57 pm

hi guys,

my laptop needs a reload, but how do i do this without losing my programes ableton sets, samples etc??

cheers

baz

kennerb
Posts: 1464
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Post by kennerb » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:01 am

You can save the data, preferably to an external drive (but you already did that right :wink:)

bu not programs

You can install xp over itself but it is going to rewrite the registry and lose any links to the installed programs. You'll need to reinstall. There are hacks out there to do it but I would not recommend it at all.
3ghz Pentium 4 (Prescott), XP Sp2, 1gig Ram, Dual Monitor with Matrox Millenium, MOTU Traveler, Event EZ8 Adat card. Also IBM THinkpad t40 1.6 1 gig ram

biffcheeze
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:32 pm

Post by biffcheeze » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:03 am

so what ya saying is there is no way to reload windows without losing programs

the_viirus
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 11:47 pm
Location: Tallahassee, fl
Contact:

Post by the_viirus » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:10 am

biffcheeze wrote:so what ya saying is there is no way to reload windows without losing programs
yes.

kennerb
Posts: 1464
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: Oregon
Contact:

Post by kennerb » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:19 am

You can run a repair off of the xp cd and that will allow you to keep the programs but I would not recommend any hacks to do it. If you have all of your data all backed up and want to try a repair method then here is a link.

http://www.informationweek.com/showArti ... =189400897

There are backup and imaging applications out there that you can use to go back to a previous state of windows but you would have had to already been using it before you ran into problems.
3ghz Pentium 4 (Prescott), XP Sp2, 1gig Ram, Dual Monitor with Matrox Millenium, MOTU Traveler, Event EZ8 Adat card. Also IBM THinkpad t40 1.6 1 gig ram

drb
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 9:09 pm

Post by drb » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:12 am

biffcheeze wrote:so what ya saying is there is no way to reload windows without losing programs
Doing a Windows repair install (xp) should not affect your Ableton stuff at all.

It only affects the actual OS files

Post Reply