do you use any 3rd party sample management software?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

do you use any 3rd party sample management software?

Post by queglay » Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:34 am

hey everyone. my sound library is getting so massive its unmanageable.
i suggested to ableton that they add a few extra features like being able to tag files in the library with colour coding or other info, but for now i need a solution soon.

i wanted to ask is there anything else out there that would do a good job of this?

I currently just have the sound library arranged by disc title, and whatever directory structure they provide. but this sucks. and i cant move samples around because then they go missing from projects. some kind of tagging and extra browsing capabilities would be good if theres something around.
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

ploy
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:19 am

Post by ploy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:50 am

every half year go listen through it all and delete about 70%. this increases quality and working is more fun and less administration again.

Patch
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Post by Patch » Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:51 am

ploy wrote:every half year go listen through it all and delete about 70%
That there is good advice, son. I do this regularly.

Never ADD or REMOVE samples/tracks when you're drunk, though... :wink:

noborders
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:16 am

Post by noborders » Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:05 pm


queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

Post by queglay » Wed Mar 07, 2007 12:25 pm

ploy wrote:every half year go listen through it all and delete about 70%. this increases quality and working is more fun and less administration again.
i agree with you there, good advice. but what about the risk of removing samples that are used in past projects? a lot of my projects dont use collected files because alot of the time they are just doodling.
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

ploy
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:19 am

Post by ploy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:11 pm

queglay wrote:but what about the risk of removing samples that are used in past projects? a lot of my projects dont use collected files because alot of the time they are just doodling.

maybe i don´t get it exactly, but re-opening it once in live and "collect it all and save" could solve this. if you got thousands of unfinished project you need to keep..... i don´t know... would result in hard work. maybe you´d then better delete them all, feels like being born new again;)

further a certain risk of unwished loss is always there (hd crashs for instance) and for me it works well to consider it all more loose.

queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

Post by queglay » Wed Mar 07, 2007 2:48 pm

ploy wrote:further a certain risk of unwished loss is always there (hd crashs for instance) and for me it works well to consider it all more loose.
haha i like your style. i grasp onto my data with all that i can, which is why i run two raid 5 arrays on seperate machines and an external disk.

even though its still not an offsite backup. and once i had BOTH raid 5's fail on me. mostly because one fucked up, and i was stupid and removed a failsafe for the other. learnt that lesson.

dont buy adaptec raid cards. bout to get an areca instead.
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

ploy
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:19 am

Post by ploy » Wed Mar 07, 2007 5:37 pm

queglay wrote: and once i had BOTH raid 5's fail on me. mostly because one fucked up, and i was stupid and removed a failsafe for the other. learnt that lesson.
hm. life is that sweet whore leaving fading trails of neverending insights.

btw i checked xplore² (whichs was recommended in the linked thread) and by its preview function maybe it could help establish a fitting file structure easily. but when it comes down to complex tagging the alarm bells ring for me and its time to leave the train.

queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

Post by queglay » Wed Mar 07, 2007 11:27 pm

since i can probably find the space, I think ill just keep a copy of my entire structure in its current state, and start to create a new one which has been sorted. that should solve my problems
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

subbasshead
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 8:30 am
Location: wellington, new zealand

Post by subbasshead » Thu Mar 08, 2007 7:02 am

i use SoundMiner & am totally dependant on it...
its all about the metadata
tag the sounds in your library - personally, not generically
& u can always find what u need/whats important to you
but hey, I dont throw out data
u just never know who/how or why u might use something later
eg out of context and/or attitudes & tastes change...

personally, i would happily be in record 24/7
& drives are so cheap these days
my library is 1.2 TB & growing
& TB drives are just around the corner....

which means if u walk around the block & wait
they will be as affordable as 300GB drives are now....

try buying some 2" 24 track tape in comparison

drumroll57
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 12:13 pm

Re: do you use any 3rd party sample management software?

Post by drumroll57 » Thu Mar 08, 2007 7:14 am

queglay wrote:hey everyone. my sound library is getting so massive its unmanageable.
i suggested to ableton that they add a few extra features like being able to tag files in the library with colour coding or other info, but for now i need a solution soon.

i wanted to ask is there anything else out there that would do a good job of this?

I currently just have the sound library arranged by disc title, and whatever directory structure they provide. but this sucks. and i cant move samples around because then they go missing from projects. some kind of tagging and extra browsing capabilities would be good if theres something around.
You might want to consider AudioFinder if you're on a Mac, it is really cool!!

http://www.icedaudio.com/

D.
stay groovy!

queglay
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 7:15 am

Post by queglay » Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:33 am

sorry, running 3 pcs. though that audiofinder does look good
Load VST Presets from Push's Browser!
http://www.audiomodder.com

ploy
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:19 am

Post by ploy » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:14 am

audiofinder mac only, soundminer mac only. somethings wrong in here!

subbasshead
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 8:30 am
Location: wellington, new zealand

Post by subbasshead » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:21 am

soundminer isnt mac only

go have a look b4 u cast (misappropriated) aspersions....

ploy
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:19 am

Post by ploy » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:23 am

subbasshead wrote:soundminer isnt mac only

go have a look b4 u cast (misappropriated) aspersions....


seemed so first, sorry. there is soundminer xp, but the price is laughable.

Post Reply