who's never used video?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live

who's never used video?

at least once
46
26%
never
128
74%
 
Total votes: 174

dcease
Posts: 2405
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:43 am

Post by dcease » Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:24 am

Tone Deft wrote:
dcease wrote:i think tone gets about 500 a month 8O
fuck you.

it's only 450 a month. 8O :cry:
well, soon, when you pass forge, it will be impolite to mention your post count (according to forge), gotta get my jabs in now...
even with the old nick, you still can't touch forge, and that's not including his alternicks...

damn, i'm in the top 50 now :x

Nick the Zombie
Posts: 986
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:02 pm
Contact:

Post by Nick the Zombie » Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:35 am

never used it.

dysanfel
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:06 am

Post by dysanfel » Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:13 pm

I bought Live6 because it was the only program I could find that would play full screen video from a projector without that annoying taskbar thingy on the top of the screen. I was a PT user at the time. Needless to say, the PT rig is gone and Live is now my main DAW.

Without the video support I would have never purchased Live.

But I want cross fading video, transparency automation, and some basic color saturation controls. That would be freaking awesome!!
Gig Rig - rMBP 2.3GHZ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, OSX 10.11.x, Presonus FS, Live 9.x
Home Rig - i7-6700k Hackintosh 32GB DDR4, 2nd Generation Scarlet 18i20, ADA8000, JoeMeek SixQ, Live 9.x

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:14 pm

i used it the past couple days doing sound design for a couple animated films - it really saved my ass. works really fast, easy and stable.

i didnt crack the manual once - just dropped in the the arrangement and exported when finished.

was very glad i didnt have to spend time learning how to do that in Logic, FCP, etc...

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Post by Jekblad » Sat Jan 31, 2009 3:59 pm

i use it consistenly and for a gig this weekend. i love it
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

synnack
Posts: 2053
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:55 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Post by synnack » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:25 pm

I've used the video feature a few times but not for much.

The reason was that the way Live did warping was totally counter-intuitive to me where you moved the timeline instead of the audio.

Now with Live 8 (beta testing) the way it works will totally make warping Video far more intuitive to me and I'm looking forward to it.

Having video support in Live was fundamental primarily for users who want to score music to video. The "export" feature was fairly easy to add.

Now with max for live/jitter support... the possibilities will be insane with 0 dev effort ongoing from Ableton.

Stay tuned!
MBP | Live 9 Suite | Max for Live | Push | MOTU Ultralite | iPad | Analog Modular Synths | Moog Voyager
aka "Tempus3r" | Music | Blog | Twitter | Soundcloud

Image

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Jan 31, 2009 4:31 pm

I would try it, but there is not a single .mov file on my music computer
:lol:

although I have heard that it works very well for scoring

WaveRider
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by WaveRider » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:11 pm

iamnotcool wrote:useless feature for me. I'm apalled that we got video import before a step sequencer midi device.
+1

dysanfel
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 3:06 am

Post by dysanfel » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:49 pm

iamnotcool wrote:useless feature for me. I'm apalled that we got video import before a step sequencer midi device.
Considering that this product is called "Live", being able playback video during a gig I think is far more important than a step sequencer. There are many 3rd party step sequencers, but how can you third party video support?
Gig Rig - rMBP 2.3GHZ i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, OSX 10.11.x, Presonus FS, Live 9.x
Home Rig - i7-6700k Hackintosh 32GB DDR4, 2nd Generation Scarlet 18i20, ADA8000, JoeMeek SixQ, Live 9.x

jamester
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by jamester » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:56 pm

Never used it.
Purrrfect Audio PC by Jim Roseberry
Edirol UA-1000, Korg PadKontrol, Dynaudio BM 5A's
REAPER, Live, Sound Forge

fatrabbit
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Bath, UK

Post by fatrabbit » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:01 pm

Used it to compose to video.

grnr
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 3:01 pm

Post by grnr » Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:29 am

i've used it for scoring to video, it's been a real lifesaver for me.

buzby
Posts: 1461
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:16 pm
Location: Reykjavik

Post by buzby » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:29 am

never used it and i cant remember ever seeing it featured in the improvements or whats new in Live when we ve gone from 6 to 7 or 7 to 8

so .. a quick newb question on the video function -

if you are djing from the session view or playing songs back from the arrangement - is it possible to drop a video into the arrangement and hook up a projector and screen the video at the same time as the music is playing?

i might even look up the vid section in the manual - i never have before
https://www.facebook.com/abletonideas
https://www.youtube.com/c/abletonideas
https://hiddensound1.bandcamp.com/
macbookpro (2.6ghz, 8gb, 10.13.3) suite 10.0.1, izotope rx adv., apogee duet, sound devices 633, senn mkh 30, 8060, 8050, sony pcm d100

mr.adl
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:02 pm

Post by mr.adl » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:39 am

Nope, never used it. I just don´t need that feature.

BTW: good topic, always wondered about that myself :D

Mr-Bit
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:02 pm
Location: The Studio
Contact:

Post by Mr-Bit » Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:11 am

Never used it.
I would use it if it was capable of Arkaos type effects/triggering (M4L?) but even then I would need a seperate system for that so still no

Post Reply