Recommend a drums VST plugin for Windows Live?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
LivePsy
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:53 am

Recommend a drums VST plugin for Windows Live?

Post by LivePsy » Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:13 am

Please recommend a drums VST plugin for Live 6 under Windows. I want better routing than Impulse - you can only pick one part out to a separate track and I think it would be great to send several (like a hi hat pair) to the same bus for FX. I know you can work around Impulse's limitations, but it just makes more sense to have effects built into the plugin or be able to do the mixing and bussing *inside* the plugin. If the effects are built in to the plugin your setup can be stored in a clip.

I do electronica samples and don't care about large sample library included or tricky multi layers. I just want fast access to the gigabyes of drum samples I have collected and able to freely assign FX.

Cheers,
B

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:18 am

Guru?

Battery?

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:53 am

use seperete simples on seperate tracks and use submixing

seriously works well

STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:59 pm

sweetjesus wrote:use seperete simples on seperate tracks and use submixing

seriously works well
what about hi-hat chike?


STRATEGY

kugutsumen
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:20 am
Location: Jakarta
Contact:

Post by kugutsumen » Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:09 pm


LivePsy
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:53 am

Post by LivePsy » Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:25 pm

Instrument Rack is interesting - that wouid give me the entire setup in a clip. Whereas splitting it into several tracks for full mixing would make it very hard to move to another project.

Choices... choices... thanks for your ideas!
B

jedeye
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:14 pm
Contact:

Post by jedeye » Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:07 am

GURU, it kicks serious ass
Live 6, Sony Vaio Core Duo t2050, 1 gig Ram, Faderfox Lv2, E-MU 0404 external SC, Oxygen 8 keyboard, Kore, Komplete 4 .Korg Legacy.

noratronika
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 3:41 am
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by noratronika » Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:08 pm

Battery all the way baby.
ImageDellXPS M1710-2.16GHz//Event 20/20's//A LIVE6//Cubase L3//Reason 3.04//NI Electro Instruments//Motu UL FW//M-Audio FW 18/14//KorgRadias//KorgKontrol49//M-Audio Axiom25/UC-33///KP3...

blank
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by blank » Sun Apr 22, 2007 2:17 pm

I use simplers in rack to do this.

I add the effect I need on the chain and if I need dry/wet control over some fx I simply add another rack with and empty dry line and the wet fx then I make their volume fader cross.

Cost less, works pretty well and if you keep it builded all with live plugs it means no audio input= no cpu consumption.
feug.net -:- virb.com/feug

STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Sun Apr 22, 2007 3:09 pm

jedeye wrote:GURU, it kicks serious ass
yeppers

It's the virtual beatbox I've always been looking for and an adequate mpc replacement. I've only had it for a week and I'm sold.

STRATEGY

LivePsy
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:53 am

Post by LivePsy » Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:33 am

I'm getting in touch with my Reason side again. Not bad, not bad at all with freely patchable effects and mastering on the output.

Cheers,
B

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Post by eyeknow » Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:57 am

HA!

Like I said, guru (most votes so far) or battery................

Now, how did eyeknow that......hmmmm..............how could that be................ :lol: :lol:

Post Reply