Unlcoking Ableton Live

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Unlcoking Ableton Live

Post by spkey » Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:04 am

Guys,

I have recently formated my disk (due to underperformance) and reinstalled Live from scratch but I didn't realise we could only unlock twice and I'm planning to get a laptop soon and install Live there too.

Has anyone had to contact Live Support for this reason? Have you encountered any problems getting another key?

Many many thanks!

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Machinate » Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:06 am

there should be no problem. Simply send support your serial number, along with why you want a new unlock, and you'll get it pretty quickly.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Cryptic UK
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:51 pm

Post by Cryptic UK » Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:21 am

I think there should be a sticky here(on the forum somewhere) about saving your unlock file.
Drums

blank
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by blank » Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:36 pm

Cryptic UK wrote:I think there should be a sticky here(on the forum somewhere) about saving your unlock file.
K so, the unlock file thing works if you still on the same machine ?

...
feug.net -:- virb.com/feug

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Post by nebulae » Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:27 pm

The unlock.cfg file is in your document settings. Do a search for "unlock.cfg" and then save it.

If you have the same hardware and the same license number (at least for Windows) then the unlock file will work over and over after every windows installation, even after formatting.

However, if you make changes, like installing XP after disabling Hyperthreading, or anything major like that where the OS thinks that your hardware has changed, then the unlock file won't work. I think RAM changes and hard drive changes should be ok, it's mainly the mobo and cpu.
Image Image Image Image

blank
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by blank » Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:58 pm

wow this is pretty good to know

:)
feug.net -:- virb.com/feug

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Post by nebulae » Mon Apr 23, 2007 2:39 pm

Yup, I've only had to bother the Abes when I've done major upgrades to hardware, etc. As for OS installs, I never bother them with getting unlocks. But when I do, they respond within a matter of hours, so it's a really good system.

I'll take this system over an dongle ANY DAY!
Image Image Image Image

nebulae
Posts: 15715
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:16 am
Location: New Orleans
Contact:

Post by nebulae » Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:30 pm

I posted an update: http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=66519

To summarize, if you format your hard drive, saving the unlock.cfg file does no good at all. It only works if you do a disk image or ghost/snapshot of a particular installation.
Image Image Image Image

Post Reply