Update question (please read)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Thomas Schreiber

Update question (please read)

Post by Thomas Schreiber » Fri Jan 16, 2004 1:49 pm

Hi,

I just purchased Live 3.X. I installed version 3.01 first. Now I can see there's a 3.02 version available. Fine. I downloaded the 3.02 version, and installed it. Now in my ableton folder I've got a 3.01 folder and a 3.02 folder. I've uninstalled the 3.01 version, but there's still some folders in the old 3.01 folder - Prefs', unlock and VST plugins. If I delete these folders, my plugs will go in the trash, and I can imagine I have to "re-unlock" Live again.

What am I supposed to do when I update? Leave all the old version, or uninstall them or something third???


Thank you in advance
Thomas Schreiber - DK
-
http://stall.dk

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Jan 16, 2004 2:18 pm

the old versions of live stay on your computer and are still functional - they're basically a completely different program. i like to keep them there, at least for a while, in case there's some problem with the new version. you can move your vst's to another folder, or set the new version to use the old vst folder

Post Reply