problems with m-audio 2496 pci

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Benoski
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:13 am

problems with m-audio 2496 pci

Post by Benoski » Sat May 12, 2007 5:35 am

since its not about live, i decided to post this here.

anyway. for some reason my 2496 is giving me problems on live! the cpu goes from like 10% to 400% or something every minute! i installed the latest drivers and i used the old ones and its always the same stuff. i never had these problems before, but they started appearing a while ago and i cant think a reason why this would happen. its not like i use any vst's or anything. fuck. :-(

i tried everything and i give up, so thats why i'm here. maybe one of you guys can help me on this. :-)

my pc is a AMD Sempron 3300+ 2.01ghz 2/ 1gb of ram and a 250hd. i have a geforce 7300gs video card.

the live version i'm using is the latest for live lite 6. :-)

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Sat May 12, 2007 5:42 am

what does task manager (ctrl alt del) look like without live runing?
is there any cpu spikes?
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

Benoski
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:13 am

Post by Benoski » Sat May 12, 2007 6:03 am

everything looks normal there, except when live goes nuts for 1/2 seconds. like a glitch effect (non stop repeating madness) then goes back to normal, then goes back to it after a minute or so.

i re-installed live lite6 again, and using the absynth4 demo and so far, nothing weird. which is strange because when i used a vst (some free ones) it would go more crazy than before.

Benoski
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:13 am

Post by Benoski » Sat May 12, 2007 8:14 am

never mind. the cpu overdrive madness is back :-(
damn this!

Benoski
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:13 am

Post by Benoski » Sun May 13, 2007 2:06 am

no one? :(

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Sun May 13, 2007 6:03 am

maybe a virus?
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

Benoski
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:13 am

Post by Benoski » Sun May 13, 2007 11:11 am

no, no virus. unless norton antivirus sucks ass. :-)

glysigakis
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:18 pm
Location: Greece , Xalkida

Post by glysigakis » Sun May 13, 2007 1:27 pm

check your hard disks properties at device manager,if they work on PIO mode,change them to DMA mode.

Post Reply