alternative for recycle

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

alternative for recycle

Post by laurentius » Thu May 24, 2007 11:46 pm

i am looking for a software that is chopping up beats and exporting the slices so that i can load them into my battery 3. ni says kotnakt2 is doing that but i can't make it work. everybody tells me to use recycle. now i think 200eur is a lot of money for this feature. any alternatives?
thnx,
lars.

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Thu May 24, 2007 11:48 pm

Fruity loops Juice pack, has some decent effects but the edison sample editor that comes with it is worth the price of the whole thing all by itself, edison is a great slicer
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

heliumbaboon
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Houston TX
Contact:

Post by heliumbaboon » Fri May 25, 2007 6:38 pm

Drop your sample into Arrangement View & chop it up w/ ctrl-E.
Drag the chunks into a sampler.

RhythmSickness
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:02 am
Location: uk
Contact:

Post by RhythmSickness » Fri May 25, 2007 6:51 pm

audiofinder can import and export rex2 files, but its mac only, but only $70
G5, G4x2 / G3 Live 3/4/5/6 Reason 2/2.5/3 virb soundclick

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Fri May 25, 2007 6:52 pm

funny,
of course i know how to chop a sample. i was having a time stretch thing in my mind...
cheers,
lars.

Amberience
Posts: 967
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 2:09 am
Location: London, UK

Post by Amberience » Fri May 25, 2007 7:08 pm

Well Recycle basically splits the audio into segments, and then triggers it in relation to time via midi notes. So it isn't actually time-stretching anything.

So the ctrl+e in the arrangement view and then importing those clips into Impulse or sampler or whatever, is exactly the same process that recycle does. Recycle just automates it.

Automates it... and in my experience gets it wrong most of the time. I've always preferred doing that stuff by hand.

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Fri May 25, 2007 7:24 pm

ok, i know about recycle. but i wanna use my slices in battery3. and the so called beat mode -which does time stretch in a very convenient way- only works with apple loops, or recycle kind of files. now i try to do it with apple loops utility...

dragonbyte
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 6:56 pm
Contact:

Post by dragonbyte » Fri May 25, 2007 9:05 pm

Laurentius,

you on a Mac or PC ? .... if you are on a Mac or have access to one, Apple has a thing called Apple Loops Utility. Pretty much works like Recycle although not quite as fancy ... Battery 3 reads and plays apple loops quite well on both Mac and PC.


The only draw back I've found with ALU is that the loops should have their starts and ends as clean and close as possible .... then ALU will do the rest to splice and dice in between ...

Best,

C-
1) Desktop G4 466Mhz 1G OS X.3.9
2) HyperCube 3.02 Ghz 1G Windows XP HE

Motu 828•M-audio Revoluton 5.1•Glyph M-Project
drumKAT Turbo•Oxygen 8•Roland PC 300 • Muse Receptor

dragonbyte
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon May 20, 2002 6:56 pm
Contact:

Post by dragonbyte » Fri May 25, 2007 9:07 pm

Sorry not paying attention today ... you beat me to it already!


-C
1) Desktop G4 466Mhz 1G OS X.3.9
2) HyperCube 3.02 Ghz 1G Windows XP HE

Motu 828•M-audio Revoluton 5.1•Glyph M-Project
drumKAT Turbo•Oxygen 8•Roland PC 300 • Muse Receptor

laurentius
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 12:20 am

Post by laurentius » Fri May 25, 2007 9:33 pm

thanks for the hint. here comes something strange: with logic ALU comes as soundtrack loop utility and this works well (creates apple loops which could be read by battery). but on my macbook i dont have that one - i have ALU. its almost the same software but in my case it doesnt create apple loops. now i copied the SLU and it works....weird.
anyway, thanks for your effort. i will continue using apple loops eventhough its so unconvenient to be not able to cut samples...
cheers,
lars.

R.J.Dubya
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:26 am
Location: Guelph, Ontario.

Post by R.J.Dubya » Fri May 25, 2007 10:00 pm

Someone already said it, but audiofinder is what you want i reckon. 70 bucks. There is a free version too but I don't think it exports rex. the pay version lets you slice and export though.
aka glitchrock-buddha
303 posts as Winston

Macbook pro C2D 2.16, Firepod, rubber band and a stick.

iamnotcool
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 7:07 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Post by iamnotcool » Sat May 26, 2007 12:10 am

Battery 3 + Apple Loop Utility is all you need.
15" Macbook Pro C2D, Live 6, Remote Zero SL
Click here for my tunes!

Post Reply