my midi controller won't stop pitch shifting

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
ameliablack
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm

my midi controller won't stop pitch shifting

Post by ameliablack » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:53 pm

the pitch shift on my midi controller is stuck and i was wondering if htere was anyway i could disable the signal through ableton (so i can still use the controller but have the pitch shifting signal disabled)

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:57 pm

no, Live lacks detailed midi control like that. What's the controller? Is it physically stuck or you move it and nothing happens?
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

theghosthand
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:39 pm
Location: sonoran desert AZ
Contact:

Post by theghosthand » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:44 pm

dont know if this helps, but i was having a similar problem with my Maudio midi control. whenever i would try to MAP certain buttons to a midi function, Live kept recognizing the buttons as 'pitchbend'. i tried a few different banks on the keyboard/midi controller and that solved the problem.

buena suerte.

ameliablack
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm

Post by ameliablack » Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:23 pm

the button isn't physically stuck, but the center position gives a signal of about 1/4 step pitch shift up, so all the notes i play from there sound sharp. i would need to manually hold the shift wheel down a little in order to get it to play at its usual position. oh and the controller is an oxygen 8 v1

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:48 am

Hi,

I guess you would have to use a third party software to filter the MIDI data before it reaches Live, so you can still use the controller. On a PC, you could use MIDIoX.

Regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Post by 3dot... » Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:39 pm

...open the box... disconnect the pitchwheel from the board...replace it when you can...

lacerate
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 4:08 pm

Post by lacerate » Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:52 pm

All my MAudio Midi keyboards have done this at some stage....I've taken them apart and checked them out....sometimes they just work again and sometimes not....unfortunately its still remains mystery to me.....it renders the controllers to be virtually useless :evil:
I am definitely gonna invest more in my next controller!

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Post by 3dot... » Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:08 am

Amaury wrote:Hi,

I guess you would have to use a third party software to filter the MIDI data before it reaches Live, so you can still use the controller. On a PC, you could use MIDIoX.

Regards,
Amaury
I did that for a while... but the controller was bombarding midiox with messages...so it was also taxing cpu... :cry:

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Post by Sibanger » Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:50 pm

Damn it!
My Radium Midiman 61 has just started to do this.
The pitch wheel is sending constant midi signals to live.
Any softsynth that is activated, the pitchwheeel is shaking about like a muthaf****r. :(
Does this mean it's time for a new controller?

Post Reply