Anyone having problems with Rendering Track at 48K?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Anyone having problems with Rendering Track at 48K?

Post by spkey » Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:50 am

Hi all,

I'm trying to render my final stereo track at 24-bit / 48KHz in order to Master it. The problem I am having is when importing the rendered file back to Ableton. Even though it imports the file fine, I can hear a weird audio artifact which sounds like a 'pumping' effect. I can confirm there isn't any effect/vst in my Master channel neither while rendering nor in my new project. Just to prove my point, my track plays crystal clear when importing it into Audacity!

This is extremely dissapointing as I have had many problems with Ableton's rendering facility which I also find laborious. could you please advise me or make any suggestions? I hope this isn't a bug but somethig I am doing incorrectly.

My computer is a Pentium 4, Intel Dual Core 2.8G, 3GHz of Memory, 80GB Seagate Barracuda. My Audio interface is the PreSonus Firebox. I own the latest Ableton (6.07).

Thanks in advance
sp.

YILA
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by YILA » Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:50 pm

im not sure how rendering can be laborious!...its only a couple of clicks.
Scan i5 in the studio. Dual core Pc laptop, 13inch macbookpro,RME fireface 800,live 8.1,operator. drum machines Myspace Soundcloud Youtube Twitter

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Post by leedsquietman » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:18 pm

warp turned on?
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Post by spkey » Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:38 pm

Thanks for the speedy replies.

I find the Ableton rendering laborious as it is continuously letting me down and end up rendering everything more than twice :).

Warp is not turned on.

By the way, just to clear something out. The problem is when importing the rendered file back into Ableton. As I said earlier, it plays fine in Audacity.

Any other suggestions guys?

leedsquietman
Posts: 6659
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 1:56 am
Location: greater toronto area

Post by leedsquietman » Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:44 pm

does this happen if you render at a different sampling rate i.e. 44.1 or 96 Khz etc?
http://soundcloud.com/umbriel-rising http://www.myspace.com/leedsquietmandemos Live 7.0.18 SUITE, Cubase 5.5.2], Soundforge 9, Dell XPS M1530, 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB, Vista Ult SP2, legit plugins a plenty, Alesis IO14.

nathannn
Posts: 3317
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 2:38 am
Location: U.S.

Post by nathannn » Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:51 pm

are all the tracks in the project 24 bit or just the master track?
it sounds like dithering is going on.
The Push / Novation Launch Pad / Novation Launch Pad Pro / Novation Launch Key
/ Launch Control XL / Machine MkII / Machine Studio / BeatStep / Livid OhmRGB / Livid Code V2 / Apc 40 MKII

no computers or synths

20 Copies of Ableton Live Lite.

spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Post by spkey » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:23 pm

First of all, thanks everybody for your Live! interest.

leedsquietman, I believe you are actually spot on. Warp was active (I initially thought you ment in Options/Preferences) however, this "underwater" or "pumping" effect happens also while previewing my rendered track. I am really sorry if I have wasted your time with something that might be so simple however, I do find rendering in Ableton confusing even though I've been working with Live for a few months.

Once I dragged my audio into the timeline and de-activated warp everything was ok - though I believe the track was slightly faster!

It seems I do not understand how I am supposed to render. Could you please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Post by spkey » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:25 pm

By the way, it does happen with 44.1K as well and indeed not all of my tracks are 24-bit 48K however, I do not see why this would affect.

Thanks again!

sparklepuff
Posts: 3300
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Brooklyn

Post by sparklepuff » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:27 pm

Even when you are previewing it in the file browser, it plays back at the tempo that the currently open live set it set to. So if you are previewing a track that is 125 BPM while the set that is open is set to 90, it is going to sound FUNKY. We all believe you are experiencing the effects of warping.
Guitar | Synths | Samplers | Ableton @ Phantogram & Big Grams

Daim
Posts: 534
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:35 pm
Location: DE

Post by Daim » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:55 pm

i have problems with rendering in general.. synths switch octaves.. delays get messed up.. in 80% the result is fucked in some way.

that‘s why i do resampling

spkey
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:11 am
Location: Second attention

Post by spkey » Thu Aug 02, 2007 10:18 pm

Please help me understand this.

I rendered a track while in a 128bpm project.

I then preview my rendered track at 128bpm and warps creating this wobbly effect. I insert it in the timeline, the same. I then change the tempo to 120 and everything sounds ok. But I rendered my track at 128bpm and I want it to sound perfecty at 128!

Post Reply