All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: how to keep plugin windows open on mac?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 7:39 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 210
Location: londoner in amsterdam
on osx, i find that when live loses focus, all the plugin (au) windows are hidden. this is a bit annoying when trying to read a pdf manual for a plugin and as soon as the pdf reader gets focus, the synth interface disappears.

on the windows version of live, the plugins stayed on screen. can i get my mac to do the same?

edit: it would also be useful for plugin windows to stay open so that i can drop wav files into a plugin from finder or audiofinder. but of course as soon as you start dragging the file, live loses focus and the plugin window disappears.


Last edited by pat the dog on Wed Aug 01, 2007 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 7:58 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14660
Location: Belgium
check preferences > look and feel

You can control the behaviour of the plugin windows there.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:50 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 210
Location: londoner in amsterdam
thanks for the suggestion, but i already tried all the plugin options in the look and feel preferences but the plugins still disappear whenever live loses focus.

any other ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:59 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Posts: 14660
Location: Belgium
My bad. Misread your post.
There's no option to control it for when Live goes out of focus.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 210
Location: londoner in amsterdam
okay, thanks anyway


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:02 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:35 pm
Posts: 534
Location: DE
at least u can press alt+apple+p to bring it back to top

_________________
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=68227


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:06 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:24 pm
Posts: 1557
Location: Homefree
2 monitors


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:17 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:51 am
Posts: 760
would not solve this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:18 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:54 am
Posts: 3300
Location: Brooklyn
nor would 7, 11, or 15 monitors. There is no solution.

_________________
Guitar | Synths | Samplers | Ableton @ Phantogram & Big Grams


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:23 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:46 pm
Posts: 968
Location: Elizabeth,NJ,USA and Colombia
F9 ?...

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ziitqi_9ns
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pA5vyuUaOhw


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to keep plugin windows open on mac?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 6:08 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:23 pm
Posts: 178
pat the dog wrote:
on osx, i find that when live loses focus, all the plugin (au) windows are hidden. this is a bit annoying when trying to read a pdf manual for a plugin and as soon as the pdf reader gets focus, the synth interface disappears.

on the windows version of live, the plugins stayed on screen. can i get my mac to do the same?

edit: it would also be useful for plugin windows to stay open so that i can drop wav files into a plugin from finder or audiofinder. but of course as soon as you start dragging the file, live loses focus and the plugin window disappears.


12 years later this is still not possible?? wtf

_________________
DAW -
Ableton 9.7.7

System -
MacBook Pro Intel Core i7
2.2 GHz 16GB
Apple SSD
AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB
Intel HD Graphics 3000
OSX 10.13.3

Interface -

Fireface UC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to keep plugin windows open on mac?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:24 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 1319
This might be obvious to you, but I though I'd mention it in case you don't know this already.

Unlike most DAWs, Live's native devices do not require opening new windows. It's only with third party plugins. An alternative (that might sound stupid) is to make use of the Device View to control your plugins nd not even open a popup window. See 17.2.1 Plug-Ins in the Device View in the manual.

If the parameters do not show up by default, just use Configure to add them. You can arrange them in whatever order makes sense to you. Tedious, but only needs to be done once. Then you can program without needing the popup window. As a bonus, many third party MIDI controllers map to the configured parameters in banks of 8 at a time without having to use MIDI Learn.

Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: how to keep plugin windows open on mac?
PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2018 12:18 am 

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:15 pm
Posts: 15812
Location: The Wild West
That's cool. *bookmark*

Personally, I just use cmd + tab (Mac) or alt + tab (Windows) and just toggle between the two applications

you can use cmd + shift + tab (alt + shit + tab) if you have 3 or more applications to toggle between and need to go back.


If I absolutely must have both up at the same time, Live has this thing is does where you can shrink it and move it to the side. :wink:


maybe in 2007, when my resolution was 1024 x 768, i would have been more annoyed. fortunately, i didn't start using plugins until after wide-screen became a thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group