arp vst with free rate knob?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

arp vst with free rate knob?

Post by clipperer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:34 pm

hey
im searching for arp with free rate knob on it, so that i could gradually increase/decrease repeats.
lives arp fails when i start to move the knob, repeats get dissonant.
any suggestions?,
thanx

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:02 pm

"repeats get dissonant"? I don't get what you mean here.

Please elaborate,
thanks.
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:07 pm

if i gradually increase the rate, the repeats are sometimes not gradual

ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Post by ethios4 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:29 pm

Do you have the arp synced or not? You will get smoother rate changes with the arp not synced.

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 pm

its not synced,and rate changes are not smooth if i turn it all the way and fast, thats why i wanna try some other arp with this function.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:24 pm

hmm - i think i know what you mean. . in the Live Arp plugin there are 2 settings, sync + free. the default is sync, but if you click on that green "sync" button, itll change to free.. try that?

also, careful with words like dissonant, they can get confusing in these contexts.

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:27 pm

im talking about free. and its not gradual when moved. thats what i say.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Post by swishniak » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:37 pm

clipperer wrote:im talking about free. and its not gradual when moved. thats what i say.
so you have the orange "free" button? if thats the case, itll be moving by the millisecond, which is pretty close to gradual. otherwise change the tempo?

ethios4
Posts: 5377
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 6:28 am

Post by ethios4 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:40 pm

clipperer wrote:its not synced,and rate changes are not smooth if i turn it all the way and fast, thats why i wanna try some other arp with this function.
I think I know what you mean. My setup is not set up right now or I'd try this, but perhaps you could assign the rate knob to a MIDI controller, and adjust it's range to something much smaller? That might make the increments smaller, especially if you could use something with higher than 128-value resolution, like pitchbend or a 14-bit controller.

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:47 pm

swishniak,
pretty close to gradual is not gradual, and i want arp to be able to do that without tempo change.
and i just asked about vst.

ethios4,
yeah you got it kind of, but still lives arp is dissonant even on small scales.

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:23 pm

nothing?

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:41 pm

hardware, perhaps?

I seem to remember waldorf doing some small hw. arps in the 90s... maybe ebay could help you out?

Or you could commision it with the Covert Operators and get your own custom pluggo?

clipperer
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:24 pm

Post by clipperer » Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:57 pm

thanx everybody for suggestions, ive found some free vst arps/lfo's but they all are either errorish or not gradual with free rate speed changes.

Post Reply