CoreAudio vs ASIO

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
karmaofdove
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:49 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

CoreAudio vs ASIO

Post by karmaofdove » Fri Oct 05, 2007 3:44 am

Okay, I searched the forums and was unable to find an answer to my question.

I am a long time user of Ableton Live on Windows for DJing purposes. I just purchased a MacBook Pro and as I was setting up Live 6, I noticed that I have CoreAudio rather than ASIO.

My question is: On a MacBook Pro, does it make a difference? I know it did for Windows.

Anyway, any answer will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
zen

dcease
Posts: 2405
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:43 am

Post by dcease » Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:48 am

no asio on mac, only core audio. in tests ive done, ca is about 1-2ms quicker, but this could be down to hardware. all in all, you ought not wory bout it. core audio is cool.

karmaofdove
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:49 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Post by karmaofdove » Fri Oct 05, 2007 10:32 am

Thank you so much for the response!

cheers

Post Reply