Live 7 & Virus Ti

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Kage
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Live 7 & Virus Ti

Post by Kage » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:08 am

Has anyone tried this combination out yet? Can't wait to get my hands on the beta to see if the virus control software is working better now..

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:18 am

Live 6.0.10 and Virus 2.51 are working perfect. I think the proper statement is "...to see if the Virus Control software is working just as stable in Live 7"
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Mon Oct 08, 2007 4:36 am

*crosses fingers*

nuperspective
Posts: 1394
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 3:45 pm
Location: was: accrington [england]. now: melbourne [australia]

Post by nuperspective » Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:05 am

MarkH wrote:Live 6.0.10 and Virus 2.51 are working perfect. I think the proper statement is "...to see if the Virus Control software is working just as stable in Live 7"
stablitiy isnt the issue. VC is solid as a rock. the latency in live is the killer.

do the new midi inserts help with this? or has the "re-write" resolved this in anyway.

[clearly the midi engine is uber complex as even the most simplistic of editing functions have taken 7 versions to be implemented. there was a time when atari ST owners could only dream of such fantastical wonderments as time stretching, yet midi was.. well meh]

Kage
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Kage » Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:24 am

Yes, latency.. I've had no issues with logic and the virus control.. but I really don't enjoy writing in logic like I do live.. keep me informed fellow virus + ableton users!

Kage
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Kage » Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:01 am

Sorry, I didn't see there was a topic for this already - http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=74310

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:24 pm

Are you using the TI 61 or Polar as your midi controller when recording midi sequences? I have the TI desktop and use an Axiom 61 with no problems.
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

Kage
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:13 pm
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by Kage » Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:13 am

Ti desktop.. It works fine with midi.. but the virus control causes latency when doing any midi sequences

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:58 am

Kage wrote:Ti desktop.. It works fine with midi.. but the virus control causes latency when doing any midi sequences
Yeah, I guess I just learned how to deal with it. :(
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:01 am

MarkH wrote:Are you using the TI 61 or Polar as your midi controller when recording midi sequences? I have the TI desktop and use an Axiom 61 with no problems.
All versions of the virus TI have the same hardware. The model type should therefore not effect latency.

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:07 pm

sqook wrote:
MarkH wrote:All versions of the virus TI have the same hardware. The model type should therefore not effect latency.
There used to an issue with Live when using the TI 61 or Polar as your midi controller. The delay compensation in Live would cause really bad delay for midi recording from the TI keys if Virus Control was used anywhere in the song. This problem never existed (so extensively) if you used a seperate midi controller (obviously there is no choice with the Desktop version). The work is still documented on the Access web site. You had to add a seperate midi track and route the output to the track where Virus Control was inserted. The problem was only for Part 1 in Virus Control.
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

Post Reply