Live 7 - SLICER - Stale Bread - Review

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Live 7 - SLICER - Stale Bread - Review

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:07 pm

please.

And anyone else who wants to review the slicer or make comments about it, please post here.


Thanks,

STRATEGY

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:09 pm

I think it's handy. I don't use it for all tasks, but if I just need some odd vocals sliced to 16ths or whatever, the Ableton slicer delivers, for sure.

gp23
Posts: 225
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: UK

Post by gp23 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:57 pm

Is there a limit to the number of slices?

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:51 am

At one point there was a limit of 128. I'd need to check if that still applies, but I assume it does.

It is because it assigns MIDI notes to each slice..

ilia
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:12 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by ilia » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:56 am

what would be the most elegant way to slice a loop at transients, not at 16th notes or whatever?

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:00 am

ilia wrote:what would be the most elegant way to slice a loop at transients, not at 16th notes or whatever?
if the loop isn't a straight 16 you can always slice at warpmarkers..
Last edited by Poster on Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:02 am

and don't forget to put an Arp in front of the sliced drum rack to do crazy remixes of that loop.. :P

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:43 am

it looks like the breadman has done gone and got himself lost in the slicer

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:44 am

how complicated is the slicer to use, i've seen the film but in real world use?

and what are the pros and cons of it?

STRATEGY_510
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: Oakland, Killafoolya

Post by STRATEGY_510 » Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:16 am

EgAD wrote:it looks like the breadman has done gone and got himself lost in the slicer
Maybe when he comes out he'll be stale sliced bread?

He's bound to come up for air eventually...


STRATEGY

rbro
Posts: 1537
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:09 pm
Location: Novato, CA
Contact:

Post by rbro » Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:31 am

EgAD wrote:how complicated is the slicer to use, i've seen the film but in real world use?

and what are the pros and cons of it?
Where's the film?

Dominik
Posts: 591
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: dubai

Post by Dominik » Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:12 am

At one point there was a limit of 128
poor recycle does the job with 92 (is it 96 ?)

in this case.
no need to upgrade.
still following this 64 bit lie.
dump and stupid.

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:22 am

you can right click from the Live browser to slice every x beats, it tells you how how long the sample is, and how many slices x beats become.

from there you open the chain list and hit the A button for 'auto chain select'

when you play a sample it brings up the simpler that the sample is on. I adjust sample start/end times there. play a slice, check the start/end points.

from there I remove samples that aren't used, move the slices around, maybe put them on white keys only.


by hitting the A button it goes pretty fast.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:25 am

Well I can tell you exactly what I'd do if I wanted 256 slices...

I'd cut the sample in half first

:roll:

Dominik
Posts: 591
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: dubai

Post by Dominik » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:26 am

Tone Deft wrote:you can right click from the Live browser to slice every x beats, it tells you how how long the sample is, and how many slices x beats become.

from there you open the chain list and hit the A button for 'auto chain select'

when you play a sample it brings up the simpler that the sample is on. I adjust sample start/end times there. play a slice, check the start/end points.

from there I remove samples that aren't used, move the slices around, maybe put them on white keys only.


by hitting the A button it goes pretty fast.

it's also working for sampler>?
that sound good!

Post Reply