64bit recording

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mja
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:26 am
Location: EIRE

64bit recording

Post by mja » Sat Oct 20, 2007 7:58 am

I know ableton 7 can record at this but what does ableton 6 record at,and will ther be much of a differnce to the quality of your music.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Re: 64bit recording

Post by kineticUk » Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:25 am

mja wrote:I know ableton 7 can record at this
Does it ?
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

mja
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:26 am
Location: EIRE

Post by mja » Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:38 am

Live 7 does,well i think it does anyway correct me if im wrong.

Amaury
Posts: 5884
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarters
Contact:

Post by Amaury » Sat Oct 20, 2007 9:02 am

Hi,

Live does not record 64 bits files; the maximum bit depth for audio files is 32 bits. The summing of the mix engine in Live 7 is 64 bits, at every point the signal is mixing. The Eq8 also has a "Hi quality" 64 bits mode.

We'll have an audio fact sheet that you'll be able to refer to, by the relaease hopefully.

Hope that helps,
regards,
Amaury
Ableton Product Team

Post Reply