I want to loop without warp

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by Hermanus » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:38 pm

try Complex or complex Pro mode.
You could be very satisfied with the result

andrewbrewer
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 4:01 pm

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by andrewbrewer » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:02 pm

Some other options to explore: put the sample in simpler ( or sampler) and set your clip to be a midi clip with one note. Many options to transpose: pitch bend, automation, and others. It is possible to get an infinite loop if you set the clip loop brace to start AFTER note start and end BEFORE note end. Pull the clip play arrow to start when the note starts. I use this technique for background textures intended to play forever and loop out of sync free form. Let's you have the freedom to control the sample in simpler, including automating simpler's loop and loop crossfade. It kinda sounded like you were trying to do something akin to this.

madlab
Posts: 1382
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by madlab » Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:44 am

The topic drifts away from its title. I'd like to be able to simply loop a clip in session mode without warping it. I use looping in session mode for my theater work quite often to create background textures. But I really don't need warping for this kind of use. I know beat mode is supposed not to degrade audio when I don't change the tempo but it's a hassle to have to set the clip tempo to the current project tempo each time I want to do this.
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by prebentious » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:02 am

the best bet might be to throw the loop into simpler and control the transposition there

pepezabala
Posts: 3499
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by pepezabala » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:45 am

the best would be to be able to set loop points on an unwarped clip. and be able to scrub an unwarped clip, or play from any position within the file by clicking on the waveform.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: I want to loop without warp

Post by 3dot... » Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:17 pm

madlab wrote:The topic drifts away from its title. I'd like to be able to simply loop a clip in session mode without warping it. I use looping in session mode for my theater work quite often to create background textures. But I really don't need warping for this kind of use. I know beat mode is supposed not to degrade audio when I don't change the tempo but it's a hassle to have to set the clip tempo to the current project tempo each time I want to do this.
you can do it using 'follow actions' ...

the looping part is still gonna be bound to bar/beat ..
if you know the original bpm..
you can change it with scene naming while launching a clip..
so it shouldn't be a problem ..
Image

Post Reply