Pro Tools has a dongle

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Sales Dude McBoob
Posts: 2840
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: Durham, NC. USA
Contact:

Pro Tools has a dongle

Post by Sales Dude McBoob » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:10 pm


gomi
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Re: Pro Tools has a dongle

Post by gomi » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Sales Dude McBoob wrote:http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?lan ... temid=5343

$280. No inputs.

about time
omg

jamester
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by jamester » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:15 pm

But would you still need an approved soundcard for audio input then? Seems this is paying an extra $300 just to be able to mix on the go...
Purrrfect Audio PC by Jim Roseberry
Edirol UA-1000, Korg PadKontrol, Dynaudio BM 5A's
REAPER, Live, Sound Forge

gomi
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:40 pm

jamester wrote:But would you still need an approved soundcard for audio input then? Seems this is paying an extra $300 just to be able to mix on the go...
i think it has a headphone output.

noisetonepause
Posts: 4935
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 3:38 pm
Location: Second row from the expensive puddle, under ten others

Post by noisetonepause » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:52 pm

* Mbox 2 Micro features analogue outputs only. For a Pro Tools LE analogue recording solution, check out the Mbox 2 Mini, or another member of the Mbox 2 or 003 families.

This is a joke. I'm 99% sure this is a $2 USB soundcard like you can get from so many other places, but with a special Device ID to match the Magic Digidesign Audio Driver... It is beyond pathetic that Digidesign haven't just made their software compatible with Core Audio and ASIO, it's a completely artificial restriction. I honestly don't understand why anyone gives that company their money.
Suit #1: I mean, have you got any insight as to why a bright boy like this would jeopardize the lives of millions?
Suit #2: No, sir, he says he does this sort of thing for fun.

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:02 pm

Breaking News: Mbox 2 Micro takes the Most Ridiculous Digital Audio Product Ever Award.





Sorry Kore, thanks for participating.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

jamester
Posts: 1272
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 7:43 am
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by jamester » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:05 pm

gomi wrote:
jamester wrote:But would you still need an approved soundcard for audio input then? Seems this is paying an extra $300 just to be able to mix on the go...
i think it has a headphone output.
???
Purrrfect Audio PC by Jim Roseberry
Edirol UA-1000, Korg PadKontrol, Dynaudio BM 5A's
REAPER, Live, Sound Forge

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:08 pm

Just to put things into perspective:

Logic Express - $199

Griffin Technology iMic - $39.99

That's $238.99, a small setup far outfeaturing this $280 POS.
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

gomi
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:19 pm

rbmonosylabik wrote:Breaking News: Mbox 2 Micro takes the Most Ridiculous Digital Audio Product Ever Award.

i agree

pretty funny.

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:26 pm

Actually that's a pretty cool little device. It's just the price that's ridiculous...

steff3
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am

Post by steff3 » Fri Oct 26, 2007 6:27 pm

[quote="rbmonosylabik"]Just to put things into perspective:

[url=http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/W ... =MA806LL/A]Logic Express[/url] - $199

[url=http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/imic/]Griffin Technology iMic[/url] - $39.99

That's $238.99, a small setup far outfeaturing this $280 POS.[/quote]

and ... $238.99 for what?

That is not the standard, that is not the full-blown, stripped down, underfeatured market leader .... that is nothing ..... it has not even a PT logo on it. this is not even worth half the price ..... you do not even get PTLE for free with that .....

well, I mean, somehow I find PT micro amazing - it really sounds like a joke - a cheapo audio-output usb-thingy, the sound quality will not amaze you, the price it not really attractive, the software is limited, has no PDC - but hey, it will sell! they will make money with it .... that is amazing.

Others are wasting bandwidth by trying to convince people that they need 64 bit mix-engines, try everything to get PDC working for internal, external and remoted and hyperternal fx and instruments and coffee makers, write emails with special offers and cut prices - man .... this is a clever way to make money.

best

LOFA
Posts: 3364
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:10 pm

Post by LOFA » Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:18 pm

rbmonosylabik wrote:Just to put things into perspective:

Logic Express - $199

Griffin Technology iMic - $39.99

That's $238.99, a small setup far outfeaturing this $280 POS.
slick math

rbmonosylabik
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 7:27 am

Post by rbmonosylabik » Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:22 pm

steff3 wrote:
rbmonosylabik wrote:Just to put things into perspective:

Logic Express - $199

Griffin Technology iMic - $39.99

That's $238.99, a small setup far outfeaturing this $280 POS.
and ... $238.99 for what?

That is not the standard, that is not the full-blown, stripped down, underfeatured market leader .... that is nothing ..... it has not even a PT logo on it. this is not even worth half the price ..... you do not even get PTLE for free with that .....

well, I mean, somehow I find PT micro amazing - it really sounds like a joke - a cheapo audio-output usb-thingy, the sound quality will not amaze you, the price it not really attractive, the software is limited, has no PDC - but hey, it will sell! they will make money with it .... that is amazing.

Others are wasting bandwidth by trying to convince people that they need 64 bit mix-engines, try everything to get PDC working for internal, external and remoted and hyperternal fx and instruments and coffee makers, write emails with special offers and cut prices - man .... this is a clever way to make money.

best
Yeah, I guess we should all just quit the nonsense, sell our carefully chosen and fit for our personal workflow DAWs, sound cards, control surfaces, etc, etc, and buy a digi 003, Pro Tools POS, I mean, LE, and then buy ProTools LE again with an Mbox 2 Micro just to be able to do audio work somewhere where I can't lug around the 003, naturally, at the expense of 1 usb port. Then proceed to look for replacements for all the plug ins we use in RTAS format, with really cute photorealistic graphics that take up lots of CPU, but who cares because nice looking compressors MUST sound good. Then and only then, we can sit around, pulling our hair out trying to get around the 32 track limit, and dream of the days when we'll sell multi platinum records, make millions of dollars, and spend it all on a ProTools HD system. But THANK GOD, OUR SESSIONS WILL BE COMPATIBLE!!!!!
Image

MBP 2.3 GHz i5, Live 9.6.1, Push, MPD32, Rane SL2

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:39 pm

I have a dongle and no input :lol:
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Fri Oct 26, 2007 7:52 pm

Image

seriously i thought digi got their shit together when i started readin this thread then realised they wanna choose what sound card i use for me.. wankers.

i agree with whoever said they should have asio support by now.

Post Reply