MpC Heads, Whats the Definitive answer for syncing the MPC ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

MpC Heads, Whats the Definitive answer for syncing the MPC ?

Post by EgAD » Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:06 am

with ableton live, I know there are a few threads floating around, but they seem to be in the finding out stage with mixed messages, so far if you use an MpC with Live Are you using midi clock or mtc, are you slaving the mpc or using it as the master, and if you got any tidbits far and inbetween all of that it be great to know too.

thank you.



ps. my macbook is still fucked up and i'm having a nervous breakdown.

Illum
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:28 am
Location: Chicago

Post by Illum » Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:30 am

MPC as master sending midi clock. 1 bar tack on lead in for recording in.
Latency compensation around 25 ms on a mbp 2.16 + Motu ultraite.
:D
illumeaudio.com
myspace/illiacsound

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:14 am

midi clock, it's funny cause on the mpc forums they say something like don't use midi clock, bah.
anyway thanks. if i didn't have my mpc i'd cmp.

which doesn' really stand for anything :)

minimal
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:57 am
Location: zh - switzerland
Contact:

Post by minimal » Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:18 am

live is the master sending midiclock to the mpc w/13.5 ms delay compensation
the audio goes to an external mixing desk, never tried to route the mpc audio directly in live.

deckme(N)tal
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:48 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by deckme(N)tal » Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:53 am

i am using mpc 1000 with jj os and i sync with MTC waaayyy better than midi clock...
www.myspace.com/freshmenthal

HEAVY METAL IS A POSE!

ACER 5920G/FW410/Ableton Live 6/MPC1000/Alesis Micron/UC33/2 x Numark TTX/1 Numark CDX/Torq Connective/Ecler Hak 360/Vestax 06/Shure M-44-7/Krk Rp5/Behringer UB1832FX Pro/Boss DD-6/

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Sat Nov 17, 2007 5:51 pm

deckme do you slave the mp or slave live and another thing do you do any delaying of either to get them in sync or does it just work for you with out having to do any work arounds?

thanks

deckme(N)tal
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:48 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by deckme(N)tal » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:18 pm

i use MPC as a master (midi is tight) slave ableton with -7.5 ms delay..and use MTC with jj os...
which mpc model have u got?
www.myspace.com/freshmenthal

HEAVY METAL IS A POSE!

ACER 5920G/FW410/Ableton Live 6/MPC1000/Alesis Micron/UC33/2 x Numark TTX/1 Numark CDX/Torq Connective/Ecler Hak 360/Vestax 06/Shure M-44-7/Krk Rp5/Behringer UB1832FX Pro/Boss DD-6/

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:04 pm

i've got the 1000, and the jj os

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Post by Tone Deft » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:08 pm

EgAD wrote:deckme do you slave the mp or slave live and another thing do you do any delaying of either to get them in sync or does it just work for you with out having to do any work arounds?

thanks
turn the metronome on for the mpc and Live, set them playing.

options - preferences - midi
hit the right facing triangle at the mpc's midi port and adjust the clock delay until the metronomes are in sync, it will be a negative value (so you're sending clock early to the mpc). mine is -52mS, your will be different.

also read the manual on track delay to get the audio tight.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

T.I.M.
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 4:01 am

midi mpc

Post by T.I.M. » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:16 pm

Im still on Live 5 but the midi timing is horrible. There will be a drift. It was unworkable to me. I noticed in Live 7 they address the midi timing issue. Will see...

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: midi mpc

Post by Tone Deft » Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:23 pm

T.I.M. wrote:Im still on Live 5 but the midi timing is horrible. There will be a drift. It was unworkable to me. I noticed in Live 7 they address the midi timing issue. Will see...
disagree. sorry, mine works and I'd rather not see egAD persuaded to give up on it before he takes some time getting it working. maybe there's a setting you need to adjust.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Sun Nov 18, 2007 7:36 am

thanks def gonna try all the tips

EgAD
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 9:35 pm

Post by EgAD » Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:08 am

bump for the end of the weekend

stale bread
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Los Angeles

Post by stale bread » Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:02 am

what's this
Mac, Mpc, and a Microphone

Thanks for the Slicer Abe.

Tohtruck
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:52 am

Post by Tohtruck » Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:35 am

It seems like most of you people are using a 1000 with Live. By chance do any of you use another MPC other than the 1000 to sequence Live? Specifically, does anyone use an MPC 60?

I'm looking to get an MPC to sequence midi in Live. I am debating between the 1000 and the 60. I've always liked the timing of the 3000 but I am not willing to drop over $1,000 on a 3000. So I am considering a 60 instead (I also just like old school 12bit samplers). But I am just wondering if anyone who uses such a set-up is finding any problems syncing the two and getting the timing to work without either Live or the MPC drifting.

Thanks

Post Reply