LIVE 6 & 7 PERFORMANCE TEST - Results Here

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Dan Dare
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:31 am

Post by Dan Dare » Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:55 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter % (if it bounces around, please list the peak) 75%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? Mac Book Pro
3) Operating System? OSX 10.4.9
4) Ableton Live version? 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? 2GhZ Iintel Core Duo
6) Amount of Ram? 2 GB
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? Inbuilt audio
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? 7200 external
9) Number of playback tracks? 8

Stuttered initially but on second pass it was all good.

Nogi
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 2:18 am
Location: C@L

Post by Nogi » Wed Dec 05, 2007 6:29 am

Nokatus wrote:1) Live CPU Meter: 19%
2) Computer type: self-built desktop, Intel Q6600 + Asus P5KC
5) CPU: Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz
Nice. Time to lean on my proc with an OC project.

nowtime
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Homefree

Post by nowtime » Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:12 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter % 560% !!
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? G4 Powerbook
3) Operating System? 10.4.8
4) Ableton Live version? Live 7
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? 1.5 Ghz
6) Amount of Ram? 1.5 GB
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? Motu 828mkII
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? 7200 external
9) Number of playback tracks? 8 (at 2 tracks she hit 240%)
Life is Good

Spacerboy
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 9:35 am

Post by Spacerboy » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:30 am

2. Set your audio buffer to 512 samples in the Audio Preferences window in Live. The easiest way to do this is to select this field with your mouse and press the Delete Key. (The default is 512 samples).

this might work with the motu but not with my soundcard... :-(

and how to get input latency of 0 ?

esky
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2005 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin - Kreuzberg 61
Contact:

Post by esky » Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:03 am

1. CPU Meter : 41%
2. self built on AsusP5B
3. XP Home
4. Live 6.0.7
5. Intel Core Duo 6700, 2x 2,67 Ghz
6. 2Gb Ram
7. Motu PCI 424, 2408MkII, 24i
8. 7200 internal
9. 8

Think i have to upgrade to a quad core... :) !!!

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:02 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter? 59%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? Asus laptop F3Jv
3) Operating System? WinXP SP2
4) Ableton Live version? Live 7
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel Core2Duo T7200 @2GHz
6) Amount of Ram? 2 GB
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? RME Fireface400
Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? don't know
9) Number of playback tracks? 8

got 57% with Live6

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:21 am

interesting to see that the performances still seem better on PC than on Mac, even with the same processors!
i'm not sure Ableton is to be blamed in this case. is it?

Emissary
Posts: 2431
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:27 am

Post by Emissary » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:32 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter? 70-78% skips around
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? macbook santa rosa 2ghz
3) Operating System? OSX 10.5.1
4) Ableton Live version? Live 7
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel Core2Duo @2GHz
6) Amount of Ram? 1 GB
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? built in soundcard
Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? 5400
9) Number of playback tracks? 8 (after a few seconds of jitter

not really that great i think, mac's certainly are slower than pc's with live, would it help if i actually stuck a proper soundcard on there you reckon?

gavscope
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:12 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by gavscope » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:36 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter : 45%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? : Desktop Custom Gigabyte 965p-s3 MB
3) Operating System? : XP Home SP2
4) Ableton Live version? : 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? : Intel E6600 C2D 2.4
6) Amount of Ram? 2 gig 800mhz G-Skill 5-5-5-15
7) Soundcard : M-Audio FW Solo, driver 5036v2
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? 7200rpm
9) Number of playback tracks? 8

24 bit, high quality settings.
Interesting, another with same specs has the same stats.
Last edited by gavscope on Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Live 7.0.7.
Acer Travelmate 7720G T7500 2 Gig Ram.
Echo Indigo DJ. Remote SL37 + F#$@@$@ useless Axiom 61

jez3122
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: Lincs,England
Contact:

Post by jez3122 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:29 pm

jez3122 wrote:1) Ableton Live CPU Meter 57% (if it bounces around, please list the peak)
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? Laptop Toshiba
3) Operating System? Vista
4) Ableton Live version? 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel(R)Core 2 Duo 2ghz T7300
6) Amount of Ram? 2Gb
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? ESI U46 SE
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)?
9) Number of playback tracks? 8
I've had a look at all the results so far and it appears that i'm the only 1 to tackle this with Vista.....and as far as i can see it's made no differerence to the performance. i realise that some people are having a nightmare with drivers but it's not effected me,
I'd definately choose Vista again :)
Live 7.0.16, core 2 Quad 2.66ghz 4 gb ram,ESI U46SE,Vestax VCM-600, M-Audio Axiom 25,
evolution249c,Maudio Xpression pro, various guitars,Akai mpd16, NI intact,YamahaMSP3's,zoom323, a Ukulele and a Crate of Stella.

ubinder
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Teufenthal AG, Switzerland

Performance Test

Post by ubinder » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:32 pm

here the results for my 2 systems:

System 1, Laptop:
1) Ableton Live CPU Meter 72%
2) Laptop/Desktop? MacBook (December 2006 model)
3) Operating System? Mac OX X 10.5.1
4) Ableton Live version? 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel Core 2 Duo 2,0 GHz
6) Amount of Ram? 2 GB
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? Built-in MacBook Audio
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know)? 5400 rpm
9) Number of playback tracks? 8 (at the beginning, slight stuttering at 72%. 6 tracks at 66% without any glitches)

System 2, Desktop:
1) Ableton Live CPU Meter 30%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model? BTX Microtower Desktop, Maxdata
3) Operating System? Windows Vista Ultimate
4) Ableton Live version? 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel Core 2 Quad 2,4 GHz
6) Amount of Ram? 2 GB
7) Soundcard Kore 1 Controller with latest driver version (fixed buffer size 264 Samples)
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed 7200 rpm
9) Number of playback tracks? 8

btw I don't have any problems with Vista so far. I use Kore 2, Live 7, a complete Installation of NI Komplete 4, Cameleon 5000, Zebra 2.2 and Finale 2008 and they all run smoothly on my new Vista PC.

mdk
Posts: 914
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: Skopje, Macedonia
Contact:

Post by mdk » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:56 pm

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter 46%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Desktop w/ ABIT IB9 Mobo
3) Operating System? Vista Home Premium 32bit
4) Ableton Live version? 7.0.1
5) CPU Make, Model, and Speed? Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 GHz
6) Amount of Ram? 4 GB (well, 3.25) @533 MHz
7) Soundcard (and driver version if you know it)? Motu 828 Mk II Firewire. Driver version 3.6.7.216
8) Hard Disk Drive Speed? 7200 rpm
9) Number of playback tracks? 8

I think i should swap my ram to get that extra 1% that gavscope has.

I've got 4 1GB sticks (800MHz) which apparently makes the ram controller switch to a lower speed, hopefully a pair of 2GB sticks will take me to full speed :)
Pr0k Records - Bandcamp Facebook Twitter

globalgoon
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 10:52 am

Post by globalgoon » Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:43 pm

1 CPU Meter 25%
2 Asus desktop pc
3 XP sp2
4 Live 6.0.10
5 Intel core 2 quad (q6600)
6 2 GB 667mhz ram
7 Inbuilt audio
8 7200 internal
9 Number of playback tracks? 8

Nokatus
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 7:06 am

Post by Nokatus » Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:10 pm

Nogi wrote:
Nokatus wrote:5) CPU: Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz
Nice. Time to lean on my proc with an OC project.
Yep... I don't usually overclock my systems, but the G0 stepping Q6600 makes it so ridiculously convenient I decided to build something with an optional overclocked profile in the BIOS :). Using a Noctua NH-U12P cooler and low speed fans on the case, it stays cool and quiet on normal air without any additional headaches, even when running the 3 GHz profile.

Permeo
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:01 pm

Post by Permeo » Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:17 pm

scientist wrote:
interestingly, i can only play 6 tracks without stutters using built in audio out.

@permeo: make sure you have a decent amount of empty hard drive space. regardless you should be getting bad results from this, as there are 24 reverbs in the test.
I have 40 gigs available. I would think that's enough...my hard drive is 5400 too, so I'm assuming that would be affecting it too.

Post Reply